Become a Patron!

Problem with Lemo Drop

Hey,

so I just got my Lemo Drop in the mail today. Its my first rebuildable, I've been vaping on an Aspire Nautilus until now.
I only have a Vamo V5, so I couldn't use the 1.1 ohm coil that came with it, instead I built a 1.5 ohm coil with the wire it came with. I though it would be Kanthal, but it seems much stiffer and springier, and the amount of it I needed to get 1.5 ohms wasn't what I would have expected from Kanthal.
So now my problem is that I get very hot and airy hits with top flavor, but very little vapor at 15 watts. If I turn the watts down I get less heat, but also even less vapor. The coil also needs at least 3 full seconds to heat up, which is annoying.
I'm not sure if this is my Vamo simply not being up to the task or if it is the coil and the meterial its made from.
I'm a complete noob, any help would be greatly appreciated.

State O' Flux

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Some elements in your description aren't adding up, nj4ck...

I don't own a Drop, but as I understand it, the wire it comes with is a 0.4mm / 26 gauge equivalent, of an unknown composition.
If it were built on a 2.5mm mandrel with a 7mm net leg length... a 26 gauge single coil at 1.5Ω would have a wrap count of 12+/-.
If you apply 15 watts to the above, the heat flux would be a cold 89 mW/mm2. Were this true, it would explain the lack of vapor and slow heat time... but not the "top flavor" or "very hot" draw temperature.

Lastly, 26 gauge would certainly not be my wire of choice for a 1.5Ω build... particularly with a 15 watt limit. The heat flux value is far to low... at that wattage/resistance. 28~30 gauge would be a far better choice, with HF values running from 178~356mW/mm2.

msmith4512

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years