Become a Patron!

Protank Coil Rebuilds

sdserio

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Has anyone else tried to rebuild coils for the protank 2? If so what problems have you had/tricks have you used to make it easier.

I've been rebuilding for about 7 months now but always looking to try new things.

MistaKuraudo

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Mmmm... if I remember correctly, Protank 2's use the regular single wick head. Those are some of the easiest heads to rebuild on. As for tips and tricks, try not to use a really thick gauge wire as they tend to deform the rubber on the base and misalign the contact. Getting it back to normal can jack up the coil, so it's easier to just use wire that won't give you any problems.

Other than that, just remember to keep the coil centered, not touching the sides and to keep in mind you're building your coil to fit in a small space. You can thread your wick through, before or after you put in the coil. It doesn't really matter.

Other than that, it's all good. Have fun.

sdserio

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
They are the single coil ones. 28g is the biggest I've tried to build with and I can just barely get enough wraps to get it above 1ohm. I need to try to find some 30g again. I loved that one coil I built with it. Unfortunately I went to rewick it and the coil leads came out and it was done.

Garemlin

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
Took me a few times but now I can do it with my eyes closed.

30g kanthal 8-10 wraps on a 2mm screwdriver
1 piece of Peaches & Creme white yarn