Become a Patron!

Ramp up vs cool down

Erbz

Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Hi all. Time for my first daft question .

I'm very new to all the rda thing and I've seen mention of ramp up times for coils , but what are reasonable cool down times ? I've built 2 builds so far , 1 dual coil and 1 single coil , both using what appears to be flat fused clapton ni80 at .3x.8 in a .2 outer (5 wraps 3MM on the dual and 8 wraps 1.4mm on the single )and I was wondering if its normal for an rda to still be letting off vape for about 5 or 6 seconds after you release the fire button when running about 65watt ? (Lets just say It was a bit concerning seeing what looked like smoke seeping out of my shirt pocket )

bugalien

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Hi all. Time for my first daft question .

I'm very new to all the rda thing and I've seen mention of ramp up times for coils , but what are reasonable cool down times ? I've built 2 builds so far , 1 dual coil and 1 single coil , both using what appears to be flat fused clapton ni80 at .3x.8 in a .2 outer (5 wraps 3MM on the dual and 8 wraps 1.4mm on the single )and I was wondering if its normal for an rda to still be letting off vape for about 5 or 6 seconds after you release the fire button when running about 65watt ? (Lets just say It was a bit concerning seeing what looked like smoke seeping out of my shirt pocket )

It might be normal for claptons. Watch out for how hot they will be even if you think they are cool and you go to unscrew the uncapped deck. I got a coil shaped burn on my thumb that hurt on and off for the whole day. lol

KingPin!

In my defence, I was left unsupervised ^^
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
VU Challenge Team
Reviewer
Yeah it's normal don't forget you have a large surface area being heated here

More mass = more time to cool down