Become a Patron!

RDA cotton help plz...noob here

Hello, I am trying to build my own coils, I'm told by my local vape shop I've got good looking coils, the ohms read between .15 and .25 on my mod and I'm vaping at between 90 and 120 watts. I've tried Kanthal 26g didn't like it so local vape shop gave me Nichrome 80 24g but said I would like stainless steel better. I have cotton bacon. I'm using smok tfv8 rda ( not the baby one), the one that came with my tank.

I make the coils, strum, and squeeze until they heat even from center out. I put cotton in and thin the sides out with my tweezers, juice it up and fire it a couple of times ( and still add juice as I do it ). Last few coil sets I've made worked great for about 5-12 hours then they start to taste nasty. Is it the cotton? I want fig this out prebuilt coils are causing me to go broke.

Oh I can take pics of what I built if that will help.

Thank you so much!!

Ishkabibble

Gotta eat the lettuce
VU Donator
Silver Contributor
Member For 3 Years
Hello, I am trying to build my own coils, I'm told by my local vape shop I've got good looking coils, the ohms read between .15 and .25 on my mod and I'm vaping at between 90 and 120 watts. I've tried Kanthal 26g didn't like it so local vape shop gave me Nichrome 80 24g but said I would like stainless steel better. I have cotton bacon. I'm using smok tfv8 rda ( not the baby one), the one that came with my tank.

I make the coils, strum, and squeeze until they heat even from center out. I put cotton in and thin the sides out with my tweezers, juice it up and fire it a couple of times ( and still add juice as I do it ). Last few coil sets I've made worked great for about 5-12 hours then they start to taste nasty. Is it the cotton? I want fig this out prebuilt coils are causing me to go broke.

Oh I can take pics of what I built if that will help.

Thank you so much!!

Welcome!