Become a Patron!

RDA getting hot

Im pretty new to modding and i recently bought a Maraxus mech mod clone and im using an igo-w plus rda and my battery is an IMREN 18650 3.7v 2600mah. the rda gets hot/warm after about 3-4 hits about 5-8 seconds apart each hit. is there a way to prevent it from getting hot so quickly or is it normal? how low/high should my resistance be? Is this gonna short and hurt me? Im not sure what type of coils are in my rda because it already had coils in it when my friend gave it to me

Zamazam

Evil Vulcan's do it with Logic
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 5 Years
1st thing, stop using it and go to a local vape shop and get an Ohmmeter. Check the resistance of that build. Take the battery out when the mod is hot, if the battery is hot, you've got a problem. You will need to check the build resistance and calculate the watts and amps being pulled from the battery. Too low of a build in terms of atty (RDA) resistance is dangerous. You've got to know the basics of resistance, volts, amps, and watts to be safe. In other words, Ohms Law. I may sound preachy, but I've seen some really dangerous builds put on mechs for newer vapers. Just the Dad in me coming out.

Take a visual check of the atty, are the coils spaced away from the posts? Are they touching the deck or the sides of the atty? If so, you might have a short.

Mech's have no safety systems in them, just a battery, tube, switch, and your atty.

Here's an online calculator: http://www.onlineconversion.com/ohms_law.htm

A lithium ion battery fully charged puts out 4.2 volts, with voltage drop start at 4.1 volts for the calculations.

That battery is rated for 20 amps, 30 amp PULSE current.

Metal mechs will get warm because of heat being transferred from the atty to the metal of the mech. If the mech gets quite hot after a few spaced out toots, you need to do some investigating.

Last edited:

scarecrowjenkins

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Unlisted Vendor