Become a Patron!

Regulated vs unregulated? Confusing stuff.

conanthewarrior

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Hi people, hope your doing ok.

First,to make myself clear, I am NOT thinking of buying anything unregulated, I don't know the safety aspects yet, or even the point of, unregulated vaping.

I see that regulated devices tend to have adjustable wattages, and voltage, while the unregulated is fixed?
Isn't this more beginner friendly than a deeper level of vaping?

I am quite new to this cool new world, so please forgive me if I have misunderstood the whole regulated vs unregulated thing, it also takes me a little bit longer than most to learn things due to a injury to part of the brain last year( on my birthday of all days-yayy) that affected my short term memory among other things.

So, If someone has a link or could explain, in a nutshell, what the difference is, that would be great.

Thank you all, Conan.

outwest

VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Unregulated mods have no electronics. Think of them as being akin to a flashlight (or torch, depending on where you live). They're simply a tube with a button that connects the battery to the atomizer (which then provides the current to the coil). If you have a short in your coil, congratulations, you just did a dead short on your battery. If you build a coil that has wrong resistance, the same thing. If your battery is unregulated (without safety circuitry built in), either of these situations can cause your battery to go kaboom.

Edit to add - found a youtube showing what happens when battery gets dead short
Note, the video maker makes comment about it not being as dangerous as some make out to be. Keep in mind, though, that the fire and explosion you see will be taking place inside a metal container, which intensifies everything and creates shrapnel (think small pipebomb).