Become a Patron!

Rookie questions

Nameste

Bronze Contributor
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Hey everyone
I am extremely new to building coils and all rta stuff..

I got 24ga kanthal A1 wire and Japanese cottons to play around rta. I watched bunch of videos but I still can't figure out things

Like how ID makes difference?
How does wrap counts effects the ohm you end up getting with coil?
How does wire Ga effect the coil?
Etc..

Thanks in advance

zephyr

Dirty Pirate Meg
VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Unlisted Vendor
Bigger inner diameter (ID) will let you use more cotton, and thus coils can soak up juice from the cotton faster, a 3.5mm ID coil will also have a higher resistance (ohm) than a 2.5mm ID coil made with the same gauge wire and same number of wraps.

More wraps will increase the ohm (resistance)of a coil. Be sure you can fit as many wraps as you're wanting to use into your rebuildable atomizer! Same goes for ID, there is definitely such a thing as "too big"

The lower gauge a wire is, the lower its resistance is. For example, if all three coils have a 3mm ID and 6 wraps, the 24awg one will have a lower resistance/ohm than 26awg or 28awg. However, the 24awg will also take longer to heat up than 26 or 28awg because it has more mass. Gauge is measured in both AWG (American Wire Gauge) and in millimeters.

Another thing to note is there are different types of wire -Kanthal (A1, FeCrAl are other names) has the highest resistance, all other things being equal, than Nichrome (N80), and N80 has higher resistance than stainless steel - SS316 or 317 etc.

Be sure to know battery safety and how much power (amp rating) your batteries Really have, and try something like this to get an idea of how many wraps will turn into what resistance, etc
http://www.steam-engine.org/coil.html?

This tool will also tell you what AWG a wire is if you only know it's width in mm

Last edited:

MrMeowgi

The Vapin' Drummer
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor