Become a Patron!

Setup for dementia patient... please review

Looking for opinions.

I'm new to the vape scene, never tried it and don't know anyone with experience. I'm buying this for my father who has dementia and will be moving into a nursing home soon where they don't allow smoking. He has been smoking menthol, 1-2 packs a day for 60+ years. I've tried buying him the gas station e-cigs, but he hated them immediately and said they had no taste. That's when I found this website.

I need a setup that is simple to use. The nurses will not have time to help him, so I want to buy a tank system that is easy to operate – teaching him new things is pretty much impossible. So far, I think this might work

Day to Day Rig:
-Eleaf iStick 20w (battery should last him all day)
-iStick Bending Adapter (to prevent thread damage)
-Aspire Nautilus 5ml (how long would that last for a 2 pack/day smoker? I need to know how many extra tanks I should buy him. I'll switch out the coils for the new bvc type. It's a large tank for such a small mod, but I don't care about looks)

Backup & Juice Testing Rig:
-??? I was thinking of dripping with a 510 atty due to the ease of testing flavors. For the mod, I'd want something variable, maybe a Vamo 5. I don't know, I'm really lost at this point. I want something that is also versatile enough to put a tank on as well. I should stick to variable wattage I guess.

I can visit him every couple of days to refill his tanks and swap out coils when needed. Hopefully, if I leave him with a few full tanks in the nursing home, he'll be able to change them out on his own.

I've tried to learn as much as I can on the forum, but I'm in a rush to put an order in for him and get him away from cigarettes (setting fire to something is becoming a big concern with his smoking, he just doesn't know what he's doing sometimes)

freemind

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
My two cents.... (and I have a Mom in a nursing home)