Smoker Recieps

mysticman

VU Donator
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Unlisted Vendor
Hey All,

I've been an avid chef for as long as I can remember. I take care of my 92 year old father who lives with me. Most days he can be found in front of the tv watching, among other things, the QVC channel. He saw an electric smoker being advertised one day and they were cooking ribs, turkey, pork butts, fish and also vegetables and mac and cheese. He asked me if I know how to smoke ribs. In all the years I've been cooking, I've never owned a smoker so I said no, but it looks easy. Five days later there was a smoker at my door and my dad said "make me some ribs".

2 years later and I am addicted to smoked foods. My favorites are ribs, pork and beef, brisket and four cheese smoked mac n cheese.

Not sure how many of you are into Barbeque as much as I am but for those that are, I thought it would be fun to share your favorite barbecue recipes with everyone.

Personally, I think the most important part of smoking meats is the rub or seasoning. So to start it off, here's my recipe for the best rub you'll ever use on smoked pork.

1 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup paprika
2 TBS black pepper
1 1/2 tsp chilli powder
1 1/2 TBS garlic powder
1 1/2 TBS onion powder
1 tsp cayenne pepper (optional)
2 TBS kosher salt

Mix ingredient thoroughly...makes 2 cups of rub, enough for 4-6 slabs of ribs.
For ribs, wash them thoroughly in cold water, pat dry and remove the membrane.
Apply a light coat of yellow mustard to the ribs on both sides and then sprinkle the rub on heavy enough so you can barely see the meat. After about 15 minutes they'll start to look wet. Let them sit for about an hour and then there ready for the smoker.

I usually cook ribs using the 2-2-1 method. 2 hours in the smoker uncovered, 2 hours wrapped in aluminum foil and then 1 hour uncovered again.