Temp Control Q&A

Discussion in 'Regulated (Voltage / Wattage / 3.7v/ Temp Control)' started by KingPin!, Jan 29, 2017.

  1. nicounderground

    nicounderground New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    126
    hi i just bought a TC mod … i have the Kanthal coils as i use the baby beast on my pico so i haven’t been playing with it yet… im new to box mods so its fine.. actually the baby beast is good and really love the coils they dont get very hot… annoyingly hot by any means … im using the Q2 .4 coils and i love them … i will have to start building.. this is expensive … not as bad as the 35 years i spent smoking analog… im smoke free and this is much better sure smells and tastes better.. sorry about the book… :) im new today here and love love this site and thank you for posting this… yes and baby beast says do not use temp control with the Kanthal
     
    Mowgli and KingPin! like this.
  2. Mowgli

    Mowgli Silver Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    516
    TCR of .00138 for zivipf SS430?
    Anyone dry burn test it?
    24ga if that matters.
    Thanks
     
  3. KingPin!

    KingPin! Senior Moderator Staff Member Senior Moderator Gold Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3,356
  4. Lizzardking

    Lizzardking New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Dumb question lookin for dumb answer trying to find what s comfortable runnin a dual quad parallel ss316 28 g ohm .14 rx300 mod in tc mode 97w at 420° n from readin if I lower the watts will take longer to get to temp before cuts off ? Higher the watts quicker it gets to temp n why does it reset to power mode randomly. I like a warm dense vape but not too hot. For shits n giggles should I try extreme wattage like above 200w this mod max is 300w
     
  5. conanthewarrior

    conanthewarrior Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,145
    If you lower the watts, it will take longer for the coils to ramp up and reach your set temperature, once this happens power is reduced accordingly to try to keep around your chosen temperature.

    Resetting into power mode can be an issue with SS316/L, always make sure before you put the new build on, to press fire with the atty off so when you put the new one on the mod can read the cold resistance.
    This is always done at room temperature, so if you have been using the mod, take off the atty and let sit for long enough to cool before doing this.

    You can try that high wattage if you want to assuming you have at least 20A batteries, but in TC mode it will result in the power being throttled back near immediately.
     
  6. KingPin!

    KingPin! Senior Moderator Staff Member Senior Moderator Gold Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3,356
    Not familiar with the RX300 if it's anything like the RX200S then you have only access to control TCR in a 4 digit way so normally it's 0.00092 for SS316 but you use 0092 for the manual TCR (although a mate of mine had better results with a higher TCR than that)

    Wattage is only serving to get you to the temp you set would say 40-60w is ample if everything else is working ...remember spacing coils and closing air vents more than power mode, taking longer draws all helps with temp control

    Could try upping that temp a bit as well to closer to 480-500F

    If I were to guess It's going to power mode likely because the resistence isn't changing enough thinks it powering kanthal

    or could be how you have set the settings on the mod it isn't happy hitting the 420F to quickly maybe wrong material selected so switching to power mode when it cant maintain it
     
  7. Lizzardking

    Lizzardking New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Thanks I got about 4-5 puffs set it down picked it up went to puff again it kicked back to power mode at 20w major disappointment esp since my coils are at .14 n inhaled air lol 20w ain't strong enough to power these up lol
     
  8. KingPin!

    KingPin! Senior Moderator Staff Member Senior Moderator Gold Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3,356
    Starting resistence at room temp is really important as Conan said your coils can't be heated in anyway before you start temp control or the whole thing craps out

    Might be worth going through the menu options you've selected and steps taken so far can help you more then :)
     
  9. Lizzardking

    Lizzardking New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    The rx300 has 4 tc modes ti ss ni tcr 1,2,3 I'll take all advice n tinker around with diff temps n watts I know under 300° it goes to protect state
     
  10. Lizzardking

    Lizzardking New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Also can lock the ohms in at the .14 which is room temp ohms
     
  11. Lizzardking

    Lizzardking New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    I'm runnin 4 married Sony vt6
     
  12. KingPin!

    KingPin! Senior Moderator Staff Member Senior Moderator Gold Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3,356
    First thing to do is set manual TCR vales against M1, M2 M3

    In a powered off state keep pressing the fire button and right regulatory button together (up button) until you are presented with the TCR menu

    You can use the left and right (up and down buttons to cycle through the TCR 1,2,3)

    press fire to select one of them

    Press up or down button to adjust the TCR manually

    Against M1 set it to 0092
    Against M2 set it to 0088
    Against M3 set it to 0130

    Now M1 is the right one for 316,
    M2 for 316L and
    M3 is the mess about one you might want to try moving about to dial it in as I said my mate tried 130 for some reason worked for him lolon SS coil

    Now you have set TCR press fire button 5 times or leave standing for 10'secsnto leave interface

    Now that's done you'll be in normal screen mode press for button three times to enter options mode press up button to select TCR mode

    While it's still flashing press left button (down button) to choose M1 (or M2 or M3) press fire button to confirm

    Now you get to choose the normal supplementary settings i.e. wattage and temp in the normal way try 480F and 60w piss around with these and cycle through the M modes until you find one that suits ...remember to lock in cold resistence as well take off atty and reattach it and select yes to a new coil ....all of these ....see how you get on

    If the mod detects resistence goes over 1.5ohms it will switch to power mode automatically by the way so ensure you are getting stable resistence readings from the coil before you lock it in
     
    conanthewarrior likes this.
  13. KingPin!

    KingPin! Senior Moderator Staff Member Senior Moderator Gold Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3,356
    Failing this pages 4,5,6,7,8 of the wisemec RX300 manual are relevant to what I'm trying to convey in the post above

    Could also try the preheat function set this higher than the temp control wattage and lower the other one to maintain it in the supplementary menu
     
  14. Lizzardking

    Lizzardking New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    If my ohm meter detects 1.5 ohm with the .14 build I got than something seriously wrong
     
  15. Lizzardking

    Lizzardking New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    If it has preset ti ni ss setting would not the tcr settings matter ? Like questions n answers better than reading a manual
     
  16. KingPin!

    KingPin! Senior Moderator Staff Member Senior Moderator Gold Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3,356
    Yes you have lol however resistence of SS does change (increases) when heated not that much though just going back to what you asked earlier about jumping out into power mode as another reason ...
     
  17. KingPin!

    KingPin! Senior Moderator Staff Member Senior Moderator Gold Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3,356
    Can try SS and muck around in there with the supplementary details why not if it works it works doesn't matter how it works right :)

    I don't know how it's preset though so gave you what I know to be the normal TCRs used for SS316 ....most mods like your one use SS304 I always choose to set my own TCR settings but that's just me
     
  18. Lizzardking

    Lizzardking New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    It weird I can go into temp mod n change between ti ss ni n tcr I. Attemptin to set the tcr now but might just use the preset time will tell
     
  19. Lizzardking

    Lizzardking New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    OK I did the room temp thing locked the ohms set the values for tcr like listed above n second I hit fire button says protect hmm switched to temp ss set to 480 90 watts tweaked my air control on my rta dropped temp to 450 increased my watts to 120 n chucking clouds lol can't tell what cloud/flavor better power or tc lol the tc is warmer n denser tho I'll take to alpaca n see if they can tinker with tcr or figure out why it's going straight protect thanks for the help on side note I'll be attemptin 6strand fishtail braid in 28g ss hopefully the ohms be above .1 for a single . 05 for a double so I can fire in both last attempt in ni80 24g a single ohmed .08 so if did a dual braid be at .4 too low for tc mode n waaaay too low for power lol I'll post pics but can't find my macro lenses
     
  20. KingPin!

    KingPin! Senior Moderator Staff Member Senior Moderator Gold Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3,356
    Lower the wattage mate serious don't need it so high that's why your getting the message you're instantly heating it, if it's coming out like thin streaky shitty vape you have wrong TCR set

    On my DNA
    I run my wattage about 40w for TC
    preheat for 1.5secs of 70w (work on this one)
    Temp of 500F
    TCR 0.00088 (316L) ....in your case that was M2 0088 as I posted above

    You should not feel it getting warmer than the limit you set even when taking 5s-6s pulls
     
  21. Lizzardking

    Lizzardking New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    110
     
  22. Lizzardking

    Lizzardking New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    I set tcr m1 to them settings had at 60 watts 480 hit fire n says protect tried lowering hiring watts n temp even cycled to m2 m3 still says protect ( the new coil same coil screen never showed) I switched to temp ss mode 60w 480 ran outta lung compacity n was 420 before got a good pull so I increased the watts to 115-120 n dropped the temp gives me good warm dense pull got a good 8-10 pulls set it down went to pull again power mode 20w I am also runnin two quad parallels in power mode 75w a s like a giggling midget runnin thru tall grass cause grass is tickling have balls 75w just tickles these coils at 95-140w <<<< (accidental n about max) 115 is ideal gives that warm dense flavorful vape
     
  23. KingPin!

    KingPin! Senior Moderator Staff Member Senior Moderator Gold Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3,356
    Sorry lizard so are you saying you dialled it in ok or not?
     
  24. Lizzardking

    Lizzardking New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Sorry it's 2am here no glasses on my face and I need punctuation. I set the tcr values like ya said lockeaad in the room temp ohm of .14, set temp to 480° n 65w hit the fire button n "protect" blinking all three tcr modes and jumped to power 20w. So I switched to temp ss mode got a good round at 450° 122w set it down came back to it hit fire n power mode 20w was a pull for a flea lol ready to just fuck temp mode n just use power but like knowledge n wanna learn both modes
     
  25. KingPin!

    KingPin! Senior Moderator Staff Member Senior Moderator Gold Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3,356
    TC takes a little time to dial in no matter what mod you use :) it's not an exact science once you have though can be a great vape just take time and patience to start with

    According to the wisemec PDF I looked up for you yesterday the TCR values for SS are anywhere between 0088 and 0200 these vary loads though .... from my research between 0088 to 0092 are the correct setting to use that's not say say you can't wiggle them more and why I said use M3 as the one to muck about on...did the 0130 on M3 not work either?

    If it was ok using the normal SS mode cool work on that maybe up the temp, lower the wattage and muck about with the preheat setting in the menu bit like what I said above

    Need to get away from thinking wattage is acting like power mode in TC it's not you don't need the amount of wattage you normally vape at

    One last silly question you are absolutely 100% sure you are using SS316 only?

    Also wisemecs are known to have issues with the 510 connection it might be that the mod is not reading the resistence of the coil properly through the heating process and jumping back into power mode do you have another mod to try TC on as well? See it you can get that one working first?
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2017
    conanthewarrior likes this.
  26. conanthewarrior

    conanthewarrior Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,145
    Ok, in that case then you could try 200W, but there really isn't any point running the mod so high in TC mode. Your set power only is used until the coils rise in resistance enough that the mod cuts the power down to try and maintain your chosen temperature.

    Where did you get your SS316 from? If it is one of the better companies, they will provide the wires TCR on their web page. Not all SS is equal, even the same grade.

    I gather you like a warm, cloudy vape from the coils you are using, and the power you are running them at. 420F is quite low, and will be a pretty cool vape. I use C, and am usually around 230-250C, which is around 450-480F. This is a nice, warm vape, but you may even want to run a higher temp depending what you like.

    I wouldn't give up with temp mode just yet, there is likely a simple reason for being kicked out of TC mode, we just need to figure out what exactly :)
     
    KingPin! likes this.
  27. Lizzardking

    Lizzardking New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    this what the shop sold me now granted this shop in question didn't realize they were sellin stainless they assumed all the rolls came in were ka1 n were sellin ss thinkin was ka1
     

    Attached Files:

  28. shawn.hoefer

    shawn.hoefer Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2,835
    I grant that I only skimmed through, but an atty that is not stable can also be a weak spot. What atty are you using?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
     
  29. Lizzardking

    Lizzardking New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Kylin rta is what I'm using attemptin to scan this qr code on this stainless steel spool n see what it reveals I woke up n tried again mad sure my tcr values were set locked in cold resistance set temp n watts like kp said to hit fire in all tcr n ss modes started to heat n kicked over to power this time
     
  30. KingPin!

    KingPin! Senior Moderator Staff Member Senior Moderator Gold Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3,356
    Ok go into power mode unlock the resistence first note what it is when cool take a few vapes at your normal power mode wattage check to see if the resistence goes up after you've got it nice and hot if it's still the same i reckon you may have got kanthal and they got the wrong sticker especially if the shop thought it was kanthal :)

    When you dry burned that during install did it change colour go a rainbow colour for a bit?
     
  31. Lizzardking

    Lizzardking New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    It went kinda bluish Lil bit of gold's the ohms did go from .14 to.16
     
    KingPin! likes this.
  32. KingPin!

    KingPin! Senior Moderator Staff Member Senior Moderator Gold Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3,356
    Ok it's SS then that's good

    In all honesty mate I'm out of ideas if you've tried everything above I've said and it's still not right hopefully someone else can chime in
     
  33. conanthewarrior

    conanthewarrior Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,145
    I can't see from that image what type of SS it actually is, but the words stainless steel are pretty big on there, so am a bit confused as to how the shop thought they was selling Kanthal.

    Because the shop wasn't even aware they was selling a completely different type of wire, if the grade of SS is not printed on there I would order a roll of SS from a well known, reputable vaping store. Otherwise it will be a bit of a guessing game of which TCR you should really be using for best performance, and also why you are getting kicked out of TC mode.

    Not your fault in the slightest that the shop was incompetent, but it will make things easier for you. Also I would question the quality of the wire, it is likely the shop was just going with the cheapest supplier, thinking they was getting Kanthal but ended up getting sent an unknown wire type instead.
     
    gakudzu and KingPin! like this.
  34. Just Frank

    Just Frank Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    824
    Super new at this, if I have SS316L do I use the SS setting in temp mode?

    I saw above that you guys were talking about having your watts set at one thing and the temp at another. My watts says 100 and my temp automatically was at 200°C. Is it more common to set it at Fahrenheit? How do I control my wattage in TC mode?

    What I got-
    Smoant Battlestar 200
    Griffin 25 plus
    SS316L dual 26g nine wrap, spaced, 3mm inner diameter coils. .3 ohm.

    I need to know how to set this up on my mods menu. What temp I should start with. I used the coils in wattage mode and liked it around 45-50W. On the screen I'm only able to adjust the temp not the watts by pushing + & -.

    Any help is appreciated.
     
  35. KingPin!

    KingPin! Senior Moderator Staff Member Senior Moderator Gold Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3,356
    Celsius or Fahrenheit doesnt matter. I've always run it from Fahrenheit

    Here is a conversion guide I'm not familiar with the operations menu on the battlestar

    But start out just trying the SS setting
    Celcius try it around 230-40 maybe
    Wattage around 45-50

    [​IMG]

    @SirRichardRear you know this mod mate how would frank adjust settings on it? Also can you manually change TCR?
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2017
    Just Frank and gakudzu like this.
  36. Just Frank

    Just Frank Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    824
    I saw another post that said if I go past a certain point using + or - it will change from celcius to fahrenheit. I put it on SS and had a couple issues. Like I said while idle the wattage says 100. I watched it while pressing the fire button and it goes to around my desired setting.

    The other thing is my mods fault I'm thinking. I'm getting a delay. Its a good second to a second and a half before anything happens. Other than that Im getting the hang of it I think.

    Im thinking mods are better than others in TC. Is there a good list of the best ones?
     
    Deucesjack likes this.
  37. gakudzu

    gakudzu Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2,397
    We have a Smoant rep here now.

    Hey @Smoant! Can you help our buddy out?
     
    Just Frank and KingPin! like this.
  38. Deucesjack

    Deucesjack VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,954
    Your getting a delay in TC?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
     
  39. KingPin!

    KingPin! Senior Moderator Staff Member Senior Moderator Gold Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3,356
    Evolv DNA(these chips are in loads of premium devices)

    YiHi (again make chips for others although thier own mods are awesome)

    FSK (hohmtech)

    Are the market leaders in temp control
     
    ChrisL and Just Frank like this.
  40. Just Frank

    Just Frank Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    824
    Yeah it's almost like it has to rev up. I push the button then 1 to 1.5 secends nothing. Then BAM and then it tapers out.
     
  41. Deucesjack

    Deucesjack VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,954
    Build, ohms, wattage, temp?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
     
  42. SirRichardRear

    SirRichardRear AKA Anthony Vapes on Youtube VU Donator Diamond Contributor Member For 1 Year Reviewer

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    11,519
    Put it in SS mode. Set it to 400f and 80 watts. You can adjust watts by pressing the plus or minus (can't remember which one lol) and fire at the same time.

    Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
     
    gakudzu, Deucesjack and Just Frank like this.
  43. SirRichardRear

    SirRichardRear AKA Anthony Vapes on Youtube VU Donator Diamond Contributor Member For 1 Year Reviewer

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    11,519
    That's not normal at all for the battlestar.

    Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
     
    Deucesjack likes this.
  44. Just Frank

    Just Frank Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    824
    Smoant Battlestar 200
    Griffin 25 plus
    SS316L dual 26g nine wrap, spaced, 3mm inner diameter coils. .3 ohm.
     
    Deucesjack likes this.
  45. Deucesjack

    Deucesjack VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,954
    What watts and temp?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
     
  46. Just Frank

    Just Frank Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    824
    Hmm, I get nothing doing that.
     
  47. Just Frank

    Just Frank Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    824
    40W 400°F, the screen says 100 until the fire button is pressed. When I push to fire it jumps differnt numbers around less than that.
     
  48. SirRichardRear

    SirRichardRear AKA Anthony Vapes on Youtube VU Donator Diamond Contributor Member For 1 Year Reviewer

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    11,519
    Did you make sure your using all SS wire. When you put it on was the atty at room Temp?

    Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
     
  49. Deucesjack

    Deucesjack VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,954
    This/\/\.

    Sent from my LG-K425 using Tapatalk
     
  50. Just Frank

    Just Frank Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    824
    I dont notice it as much amymore, must be getting used to it. Really digging the flavor with SS316L. Is the difference noticable with plain SS? I failed to recognize the "L" at the end when ordering. It's UD wire. Would that be a solid brand? Like my first post said, I'm really green at this new venture.
     
    SirRichardRear likes this.

Share This Page

Close This Message