Become a Patron!

Temperature control, My set up and some help needed for a kind of "Newb"

Hi, this is my first post on this forum, so apologise if I am asking some really obvious or questions that have been asked before. I did some searching on this forum and although I did get some questions answered, I could do with a little more information.

I've been using e-cigs for at least 6 years, but up until now have just been using your basic e-go tank with a variable voltage e-go battery. My current tank is an "Aspire ET-S BVC - Glassomizer http://www.discountvapers.com/aspire-et-s-bvc-glassomizer-black/". However, I still smoke regular cigarettes, but am looking to cut back and eventually give those up completely, so today I decided to upgrade my battery and bought the Eleaf I-stick TC40W battery. To be honest I had no idea what I was buying, but the guy in the vape shop told me it was a good "starter battery" for someone looking to take the next step. Hopefully he wasn't just trying to sell me a battery!

However, since getting it home and reading the instructions, I'm a little confused since it has variable wattage, instead of variable voltage; an ability to lock in the ohms / resistance of the coil (very confused about that) and now I find out it has "temperature control" and it seems I should be using a certain type of nickel coil for that to work properly, and I shouldn't be using variable wattage on a nickel coil or temperature control on a non-nickel coil. It's all very confusing.

So now I've (hopefully) explained everything, here are my questions:

1. Are the BVC coils for my Aspire Nickel?
2. What happens if you use TC with a non nickel coil and vice versa with VW? Could it damage your battery or coil?