1. VAPING UNDERGROUND VAPE BANDS ARE NOW AVAILABLE! CLICK HERE

Volcano Finally Releases Lavabox M DNA75

Discussion in 'Regulated (Voltage / Wattage / 3.7v/ Temp Control)' started by ChrisL, Aug 6, 2016.

  1. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    Thanks for the kind words my friend. I'm glad you liked the file. :cheers:

    Cheers,
    Steve
     
    skt239 likes this.
  2. HaileStorm

    HaileStorm Bronze Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    277
    Hi steve,

    Been running the case analyzer for awhile now. Just a few more questions:

    1. At the beginning of the test, is it an absolute must to get an accurate reading of the room temp?

    And

    2. Say i use your settings with the case analyzer set, would it matter say if you live in a colder climate and i apply the same settings and im in a warmer climate?

    Just my ocd kicking in but i think i misread the reading on the mod screen (it read 86°f and i put in 88°f).
     
  3. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    1. The more accurate you set the room temperature, the more accurate the test will be. .
    2. That won't matter. The case thermals are just seeing how long it takes the case to heat up and cool down. I ran mine when it was around 70F here.

    If it was me, I would load my ecig file and you can then run the test, if you want to. That way you would have all the profiles, mod resistance, custom screens, custom theme, etc.

    Cheers,
    Steve
     
    HaileStorm likes this.
  4. HaileStorm

    HaileStorm Bronze Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    277
    All right, thanks steve! I've already downloaded your profile, will just load it when i get home and start the test over again tomorrow. Another 4hrs of my life im not getting back i guess
     
    Wingsfan0310 likes this.
  5. Chris Peltz

    Chris Peltz Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    For the Case Analyzer -- am I just supposed to click the "START" button when it comes up and let it run?
     
  6. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    Put in the room temperature and then click on the Start button. You don't need to click on record. I like to have the mod at room temperature when I start the test. I've found it takes 3-4 hours to run it. When it's finished, click on Accept. After that don't forget to click on Upload Settings to Device to save your results to the mod.

    PS Have the battery between 1/4 to 1/2 charged before starting the test.

    Cheers,
    Steve
     
  7. Chris Peltz

    Chris Peltz Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks. I didn't have a thermometer right next to where the mod was running the case analyzer, so I just used the upstairs temp which was at 70. Hoping that doesn't make much of a difference if the temp downstairs was different. I will post an image of the results once done (it is still running, in the cooling stage).
     
  8. BoostAddict

    BoostAddict Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,045
    This is where i get my temp from when running the case analyzer:cheers:

    Capture1.JPG
     
  9. Chris Peltz

    Chris Peltz Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Kind of odd then for the tool to ask for room temperature if it can determine that from the mod itself.
     
  10. BoostAddict

    BoostAddict Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,045
    I agree 99.5% :p
     
  11. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    Running the test helps the mod to be able to determine what the temperature of the room is. I wouldn't necessarily trust that temp number before I ran the test. I use the actual temp of the room. I make sure the mod hasn't been used for awhile (I like to run mine before the mod has been used that day if possible). I also try to have it in a stable area (not in front of a heat vent, fan, etc)

    Cheers,
    Steve
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2016
  12. Nevweezy

    Nevweezy VU Donator Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,438
    Volcano has these on sale for 59.99 if anyone is intrested.
     
    CashNVape and Foggz like this.
  13. Johnnytraveler

    Johnnytraveler Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,776
    [​IMG]

    Down to $48 using the coupon winter25 from vaporworld

    Sent from somewhere in Vietnam.
     
    CashNVape likes this.
  14. gobbly

    gobbly New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    At one time or another I've owned every device Volcano has made. Been using them almost exclusively since late 2010. With the exception of the Inferno, I have never had to replace one. I have a lavatube that has gone swimming in at least 10 different rivers (accidents while fishing and rafting), covered several thousand trail miles, and skied uncountable mountains, along with all the other stuff that life has thrown at it. It's been replaced by lavaboxes, but still works like a champ. Their design, materials, and build quality are quite high.
     
    Johnnytraveler likes this.
  15. Bigjack

    Bigjack Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    On sale at Volcano for $42.99 and free Ship through tomorrow. Had to pick up a blood red for that price!
     
    ej1024, ChrisL, Eskie and 1 other person like this.
  16. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    That's dirt cheap. The Blood Red is the only DNA75 I own. I prefer the DNA200/250 chips, but couldn't resist the BR LB75. I think you will like it! :cheers:

    Cheers,
    Steve
     
    Eskie likes this.
  17. ChrisL

    ChrisL VU Donator Silver Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,360
    I could not find it at that price. Is there a coupon code? It's $56.00 free ship at volcanoecigs.com
     
  18. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    I receive E-Mails from them and $56 is the price the E-Mail says it's on sale for as well. That's still a great price imo (I paid more for mine :eek: :teehee:)

    upload_2017-2-13_18-22-3.png

    Cheers,
    Steve
     
    ccbflo and ChrisL like this.
  19. Bigjack

    Bigjack Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Try putting it in your cart it should show up at 42.99 it did for me . I got the same Email as Steve
     
  20. Bigjack

    Bigjack Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Never mind just tried it it was 56 They must of had a glich when i bought it this morning.
     
    Wingsfan0310 likes this.
  21. ccbflo

    ccbflo Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks for the heads up guys, order placed!! I've been waiting for a sale:)
     
    Wingsfan0310 likes this.
  22. 2c5000

    2c5000 Bronze Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    i just ordered this device for $51.90 shipped! these are still available out there and from what i understand this is a great deal.

    VapeNW - Lava Box mini DNA75

    now are the dif color battery doors still available?
     
    ChrisL likes this.
  23. ChrisL

    ChrisL VU Donator Silver Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,360
    volcanoecigs.com enter lavabox in seach bar. Blue, black, white, and red grips still in stock.
     
    2c5000 likes this.
  24. 2c5000

    2c5000 Bronze Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    whats the material on the grips? i think read it was a rubber texture...? is the grip plastic or aluminum like the mod?

    i may get a couple of grips and refinsh them myself.
     
  25. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    The battery door is Aluminum like the mod. The grip on the door feels like some type of plastic/rubber.

    Cheers,
    Steve

    Edit I was thinking about my Lavabox DNA200's. On the 75, the battery door is just the rubber/plastic grip with a possible second layer of some type in the inside middle where the label is as illustrated in a later post. Sorry for the mix-up/faulty information.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2017
    ChrisL and 2c5000 like this.
  26. 2c5000

    2c5000 Bronze Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    i was hoping so! thanks

    just ordered the red and blue. only $2.99 each. im gonna sand one down to bare aluminum and refinish it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2017
    skt239 likes this.
  27. skt239

    skt239 VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    6,333
    I did not know it was aluminum underneath, good to know. I love my Lava box 75 but I have had some magnet trouble. They tend to pop out but nothing a little glue won't fix. This happened on all three that I have owned. The first two had board related problems but volcano replaced them, all have / had the magnet problem.
     
    Wingsfan0310 and 2c5000 like this.
  28. 2c5000

    2c5000 Bronze Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    ive got one of those needle application bottles of super glue. ill run it along the outside of each magnet as soon as i get them.

    or... if they can be pryed out maybe a dab of jb weld is in order.
     
    skt239 likes this.
  29. skt239

    skt239 VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    6,333
    I'd like to see how that turns out. I do really like the feel of the rubber though.
     
    Wingsfan0310 and 2c5000 like this.
  30. 2c5000

    2c5000 Bronze Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    well ill have three covers now so ill still have that option. also maybe a new rubber finish could be applied. or powder coated. or cerakoted... lol
     
    skt239 likes this.
  31. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    Well I have to take that back about it being Aluminum. I was thinking about my Lavabox DNA200's. The grip screws onto the Aluminum. On the 75 it seems like the battery door is just the grip. Although it may have some sort of second layer on the inside middle where the writing /label is. Sorry about the mix up :facepalm:. TBH I don't use the 75 much. I mostly use my dual 18650 DNA mods and the Lipos every once in a while.

    As for the magnet on the 75, I must be lucky because my Blood Red's magnet is holding up fine. Then again it doesn't get heavy use.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2017
    ChrisL, 2c5000 and skt239 like this.
  32. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
  33. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    This is what I was thinking about when I first answered the question. On the Lavabox DNA200"s (3s Lipo) mods there is a battery door made out of the same Aluminum as the mod. The rubber /plastic grip then screws on the mod. You can see the back piece on the two 1300mah extender kits I have that are still unopened. I just finished getting my stuff unpacked on Monday. Again sorry for the mix up.

    IMG_20171206_174021.jpg
     
    2c5000 likes this.
  34. 2c5000

    2c5000 Bronze Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    no worries partner. honestly the grips were $3 each and i would have gotten them anyway. thanks for the info. im going to refinish one of the grips even if its plastic. i sorta like the idea of slimming the device down a mm or two. seems the grip is the widest point on all three sides it covers. got the red and blue grips. ill probably modify both of them. or just make a mess. either way it should be fun.
     
    Wingsfan0310 likes this.
  35. 2c5000

    2c5000 Bronze Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    so the mod should arrive saturday and the extra grips on monday. more to come on the modifications to the grips.

    i guess i need to DL escribe for mac. can you get into escribe and check out the interface before attaching a device? id like to familiarize myself with escribe before my mod arrives. ive got a feeling that ill be creating a bunch of profiles.

    where can one fine profiles from other users that are DLable online?
     
    Wingsfan0310 likes this.
  36. skt239

    skt239 VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    6,333
    I don't have it in front of me but I'm pretty sure you have to have your mod plugged in. As far as files go, I've been using @Wingsfan0310 on all my DNA's and they work perfectly. If it's ok with Steve, I can send them over to you.

    Check the evolv forums for a tutorial.
     
    2c5000 and Wingsfan0310 like this.
  37. ShowerHead

    ShowerHead Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    631
    Yes, you can run it and you'll see a 'Edit New Settings' section. Choose the 75 and have at it. Make sure you set Options>User Interface to Manufacturer so you get all the options.
     
    2c5000, Wingsfan0310 and skt239 like this.
  38. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    I'm not sure about the Mac version (My PC is a Windows machine), but on the Windows version you can check out Escribe without a mod hooked up. As a matter of fact you can load an Ecig file and check out all the settings, screens, etc.

    I have no problem with you sharing the Ecig file my friend. For that matter, I think I have it posted here. I have no problem sharing with fellow vapers. If it helps someone out, it's all good with me. :cheers:
    Link to my Therion 166, Triade250, VT133, Lavabox M DNA 75, and VF133 ECIG Files

    Cheers,
    Steve

    PS I have to change the file extension here to .pdf from .ecig because .ecig files aren't supported here. If you can't figure out how to change it back either @skt239 or I can Email it to you with the .ecig file extension. Just PM one of us your Email address.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2017
    skt239 and 2c5000 like this.
  39. 2c5000

    2c5000 Bronze Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    looking like my lavabox mini will arrive today sometime. really looking forward to setting up some custom curves in escribe.

    oh and for those offering their profiles via email... ill be in touch!
     
    Wingsfan0310 and ShowerHead like this.
  40. skt239

    skt239 VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    6,333
    Check out the post right before yours, it's got everything you'll need.

    Edit to add - still happy to email them if you prefer. Just shoots me a pm.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2017
    2c5000, Wingsfan0310 and ShowerHead like this.
  41. 2c5000

    2c5000 Bronze Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    my lavabox m arrived last night and first impressions are very good. the mod itself is pretty damn nice. i do see why some may say it feels cheap. i believe this is because the battery door/grip is plastic. BUT it does not seem cheap to me. yes the grip being aluminum also would be nice, but this device is solid. does not feel cheap to me at all.

    now about the chip... it took me a min to understand navigating the menus. probably because im used to the joyetech menus. took me a min to to understand that you dont turn this chip off like with other devices. you just simply lock it. it turns itself to an off state after so much time of no use. this is ok, but i have a feeling it will activate in my pocket a lot. yes itll be locked, but even coming on in a locked state uses the battery.

    so i got it into SS316 mode and i gotta say... i could tell how much nicer of a chip this was over the joyetech stuff the first second i fired it. instant power. not much ramp up at all and this was at 20watts. i have not DL’d escribe yet, but plan on doing so today hopefully. i am quite busy, but will try to work it in. so for now im getting quite a nice vape. you can just feel the quality here and i love it. cant wait to really set up some curves and dial this chip in.

    oh questions about adding logos and stuff to the display... how hard is it? lol. what type of file is needed for this? im a graphic designer and want to get creative here.

    EDIT: Another question... my lavabox m came with a decent user manual, but i feel like it only explains the minimum in regard to the chip. is there a downloadable manual available from Evolv on their chips? one that explains all functions in detail?
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2017
  42. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    EScribe Interactive Training Course
    EScribe User Manual
    DNA 75 Datasheet

    The display is 128 x 32 (that's the size you want to make your custom screens).
    The display is in monochrome so you want to make your screens in Black and White. You can cut and paste color screen with varying degrees of success (it will turn dark colors into black and light colors into white). On my Ecig profile I set up 7 different TC profiles, 1 for Power Mode (each with it's own custom screen), custom theme, etc. Hope this helps!

    Cheers,
    Steve

    Edit: IIRC You are using a Mac. Here's the thread on the Mac version of Escribe
    Mac EScribe Suite Beta Thread
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2017
    2c5000 and ChrisL like this.
  43. 2c5000

    2c5000 Bronze Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    thanks for the links! ill have to check out the interactive training course.

    i was able to DL the mac version of EScribe and i gotta say... i LOVE it. so much of the functionality can be customized. i found it pretty easy to create profiles and change some other settings.

    as much as i am loving my DNA experience so far i am experiencing some wonky stuff with this chip. for one the new coil screen pops up randomly whenever it wants. no rhyme or reason. reminds me of my joyetech chips that also did this. i thought it was supposed to ask me EVERY time i take off and replace an atty? last night i was happily vaping and then wasnt getting any vapor. looked at the screen and it was asking if the coil was new... ugh. other times ill awake the device to start vaping on a coil that ive been using, resistance already locked in, and havent removed the atty and itll ask if the coil is new... wtf?

    also, locking the ohms only seems to work about half the time. when i fire it the ohms shows what i locked it in as when the coil was cold. then other times, even though its locked, the ohms goes up and down as it heats and cools. WHY WONT THIS CHIP LOCK MY OHMS PROPERLY??? this is really frustrating me. is there a fix?

    please help! i bought a DNA device because im tired of the weak and weird performance of cheaper devices. is DNA just more of the same? hoping not.
     
  44. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    In TC you should see the cold ohms that are locked in. In Power Mode you will see real time resistance (as your firing the coil the resistance will go up).

    The new coil screen should only show up if a resistance is a certain amount different than the last coil that was used (I forget the exact amount). The only thing I can think of is if the arty is coming partially unscrewed and the power button gets pressed. Either that or possibly a bad 510 connection. I don't have that issue on my DNA mods.

    Cheers,
    Steve
     
    2c5000 likes this.
  45. skt239

    skt239 VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    6,333
    Email evolv directly. In my experience, they are quick to reply and very helpful trouble shooting. If they can't figure it out, send it back wence it came. I'm not sure about vape nw's return policy but I seem to recall they are ball breakers. No matter, if it's a problem with the board evolv will fix it.
     
    2c5000 likes this.
  46. 2c5000

    2c5000 Bronze Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    so what im experiencing is that when i lock in the cold ohms in SS TC mode is that half thr time it stays locked in on the display when vaping. other times its showing the fluctuations due to the temp increase even when locked. the lock icon is still there and yet the resistance changes on screen while i vape. i thought the lock meant it would constantly show the cold temp even when vaping in TC...? no?

    i asked about this on the Evolv forum and the reply was:

    “As the coils heat the resistance moves. Each wire material used has a specific curve while heating. DNA's have a "refinement" function that fine tunes the resistance reading as the device rests for a more accurate temperature . Locking the ohm's may be beneficial for finiky atty's but as a matter of choice should not be used in normal operation. If the ohm's fluctuates more than normal then a dirty or loose connection should be suspect.”

    so basically they said only to use the ohm lock feature when using a finiky atty? so dont use it with a solid mounted coil/atty? i dont understand why they said not to use it in normal operation.

    even still... when i lock it it still doesnt always display the cold ohms. am i not understanding something here?
     
  47. skt239

    skt239 VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    6,333
    Part of that response is right. DNA's continually read the resistance throughout the entire button press, where others just read the initial resistance. With a stable build, DNA's will work better in TC with the ohms unlocked. However, when I lock the resistance on any of my DNA's, the ohms do not fluctuate. Try opening a ticket with Evolv.

    https://helpdesk.evolvapor.com/
     
    Wingsfan0310 likes this.
  48. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    In TC you shouldn't see the ohms jumping while firing. You can notice the mod refining resistance after its been idle for 30 minutes or so but that would be a small amount - say. 01 or so as the coil was breaking in. If it's all over the place something doesn't sound right.

    I don't usually lock my resistance in TC. As you were told I would only do this with an atty that isn't stable resistance wise. Personally I wouldn't use an atty like that for TC.

    This brings me to my final thought. Is either your atty or coils unstable? If I was having an issue I would rebuild my coils to make sure it wasn't them (I use RDTA"s). The other thing that comes to mind is it possible it's jumping out of TC? That could be caused by having an improper TCR value for the material being used. Maybe try my Ecig file to make sure that isn't what's going on (just a thought).

    Good luck! I hope you can figure out what's going on.

    Cheers,
    Steve
     
    2c5000 likes this.
  49. 2c5000

    2c5000 Bronze Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    well the display readout fluctuating when locked in TC mode isnt “all over the place”. its actually very uniform, but why its fluctuating at all is what i do not get. the coil that is in there now is .49ohms. as i fire it it goes up and tops out at .57ohms. its not a lot but coming from a joyetech device that much change would have made a HUGE difference in TC.

    i just dont understand why it changes at all when locked.

    so this leads me to this question... if the cold temp doesnt need to be locked for TC on a DNA chip... how is the chip regulating temp if the resistance changes all the time?
     
  50. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 4 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    The chip keeps track of the cold resistance in TC whether you lock it or not. It knows the Temperature of the coil by the rise in resistance taking into account the TCR of the TC wire you are using.

    In TC the resistance shouldn't be changing on your display. All you should see is the cold resistance whether it's locked or not. The only thing locking it does is shut off the refinement the chip does. What that is the chip checking the resistance of the coil as it's cooled down. At times the cold resistance will change by a very small amount as the coil breaks in/ages. If it changes the chip will lock in the new cold resistance (that's refinement).

    One of two things are happening.
    1. Your not in TC.
    2. Your mod is having a problem. Either the 510 connection or board.

    Personally it sounds like your not in TC or the TCR isn't correct and the mod is kicking you out of TC.

    This is what it should look like for the profile you are using in Escribe. Off should not be checked.
    upload_2017-12-11_19-59-43.png

    Common values of TCR if you are setting up your own profiles
    [​IMG]
     
    2c5000 likes this.

Share This Page

Close This Message