Become a Patron!

Volumetric Efficiency of rebuildables

St.Roostifer

Gold Contributor
Member For 5 Years
Hey all. Since I'm a newb that's still learning and currently do not have the space to set up a proper work station to build my own wire, there's not much I can do to contribute to the forums outside of posting my setups. Hopefully this thread will be seen as a positive contribution to VU and help gain better understanding of what goes into building a solid atty to achieve our desired outcome which is clouds, flavor and/or both.

A combination of things have led me to create this thread so here's a short list.

1) the name and my building experience with the OBS Engine Nano.
2) my recent build on the Goon 22.
3) my background of being a gearhead that loved pulling engines apart to build more power. Did a lot of street racing in the 90's.
4) the names of two atomizers, the 454 big block and Jai Haze's new 502.

Volumetric Efficiency is defined in three different ways according to Wikipedia, and I absolutely relate and agree with how wiki defines it.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volumetric_efficiency

Internal combustion engine.

"Volumetric efficiency in an internal combustion engine design refers to the efficiency with which the engine can move the charge of fuel and air into and out of the cylinders. It also denotes the ratio of air volume drawn into the cylinder to the cylinder's swept volume. [1] More specifically, volumetric efficiency is a ratio (or percentage) of the mass of air and fuel that is trapped by the cylinder during induction divided by the mass that would occupy the displaced volume if the air density in the cylinder were equal to the ambient air density. "

Hydraulic pumps