Become a Patron!

What is the difference between different coil designs?

What is the best coil design for flavor?

• Taiji Coil

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Staircase Coil

• Staircase V2 Coil

• Super Juggernaut Coil

• Flat Twisted Coil

• Mix Twisted Coil

• Hive Coil

• Total voters

ziadtorkey

Member For 1 Year
I'm new to building my own coils. I just can't get it, what is the difference between Clapton and alien and tiger etc.

Forget about the the resistance, does the coil design matter in flavor?

PoppaVic

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
I'd just call those "complex wires", rather than coils.

A lot of folks simply use plain old round wire; others swear by ribbon. (And this is "for flavor").

I can't stand nichrome at all - I taste blood/iron. I avoid nickel like plague. I still best enjoy SS316 and Kanthal - and around 28awg, SS316 is about the same as Kanthal.

Fudgey Finger

Silver Contributor
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
I couldn't vote in the poll because there is no parallel round wire choice. Hands down my favorite coil is dual parallel 24g N80 5/6 wraps. It beats any alien I've ever made.

IMO there isn't much of a difference. I used to make complex coils like staples, aliens, claptons, etc. I thought that I was working towards a better vape but it was all in my head. Building coils and making complex wires can be fun, but I don't think most complex coils improve the flavor or vapor more than using parallel round wire.

This isn't to say that different coils don't make a difference because they do. I think that I get a better vape on a mech or regulated mod with simple round wire builds. When you wrap cores with a clapton wire you are increasing the mass of the coil and you are increasing the amount of power required to vaporize the juice. The bigger chunkier coils also tend to hold heat longer and can burn your wick or make your atty heat up.