Become a Patron!

What should i do? understading amp reading on my smok alien 220w

I am new to vaping. I understand that the batteries I have, put out 20amp maximum. smok alien mod takes 2 of these LG batteries. when I am vaping at 60w, 0.163 ohms, 3.4 volts, the amp reading shows me 21.92 amps on the mod.

Is it safe, if not, what should I do?

MercuryVaper

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
I can only say, never push batteries beyond their limits. Better safe than sorry.
BTW, welcome to VU. Vape safe. And go read about battery safety.:)

IMFire3605

Bronze Contributor
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
ECF Refugee
I am new to vaping. I understand that the batteries I have, put out 20amp maximum. smok alien mod takes 2 of these LG batteries. when I am vaping at 60w, 0.163 ohms, 3.4 volts, the amp reading shows me 21.92 amps on the mod.

Is it safe, if not, what should I do?

I hate mods that show an amp reading on them, they are to confusing to beginners. With a regulated mod like yours there are two amp load figures, first that you are seeing is the boosted amp push from the control board to the coils of your atomizer/tank, basically meaningless as the control boards on some mods can push close 40 to 50, even 55amps output, but basically meaningless. The amp figure to worry about that isn't displayed is at the supply side, or the amps the control board "Pulls" from the batteries, with that you need to calculate the amps yourself, the formula is simple, example given your watt setting

Watts Set/Lowest Battery Voltage/90%=Maximum Amps

60watts Set/6.4v lowest voltage before error or mod shutdown (3.2v X 2 Batteries)/90%=10.4167 maximum amps

Where what you are seeing is another Ohm's Law formula in action we use for Mechanical/Unregulated Mods
3.4v/0.163ohms=20.8589amps