Become a Patron!

What's so good about Friday

Jimi

Diamond Contributor
Member For 5 Years
I wanted to share this with you

It's Good Friday and I want to do something I've never done before. I want to talk about it.

Today we recognize that 2024 years ago Jesus Christ died on a cross.

But the significance of Jesus' death doesn't make sense until you understand Passover.

The story of Passover is found in Exodus chapter 12. The Israelites, who were slaves in Egypt, were instructed by God through Moses to sacrifice a spotless 1-year-old male lamb and put the blood of the lamb around their door frames.

That night, the Lord killed every firstborn child and every firstborn animal in Egypt, but the Lord passed over the houses with the blood of the lamb on the door.

That was the tenth and final plague that compelled the Pharaoh to let the Israelites leave Egypt, freeing them from 400 years of slavery. The Lord provided a way for the Israelites to be saved from His judgement, but they had to follow His instructions. They had to obey.

Exodus 12:21-30 "Then Moses summoned all the elders of Israel and said to them, “Go at once and select the animals for your families and slaughter the Passover lamb. take a bunch of hyssop, dip it into the blood in the basin and put some of the blood on the top and on both sides of the doorframe. None of you shall go out of the door of your house until morning.

When the Lord goes through the land to strike down the Egyptians, he will see the blood on the top and sides of the doorframe and will pass over that doorway, and he will not permit the destroyer to enter your houses and strike you down.