Become a Patron!

What's the best coil for me?

Ok so I'm a complete noob when it comes to vaping as I have only been immersed in the confusion for around 2 or 3 days. After watching reviews and learning about the different types of builds I decided to go with a VW mod: The IPV2 50 Watt, which from what I've read decided I'll be running it in the 15-20 watt range. I looked at the different types of atomizers and decided to go with the Magma RDA by Paradigm. My question is: What size wire and coil setup should I be using if i'm going to be using cotton for my wick? My understanding is that the size of the coil, size of the wire, number of loops, space between the loops etc. determines the amount of ohms that the atomizer produces. I'm wanting to make a coil that vapes in the 1-1.5 ohm range and another that vapes in the 2.5 ohm range just to see the difference but I've seen so many ways of doing it. Some people use a single coil and some use multiple coils made from either one or two wires. If someone could break this down for me that'd be great.

M5amhan

Silver Contributor
Member For 5 Years
start with a single 28 gauge coil 6 or 7 wraps around 3/32 drill bit that will get you in the 1-1.5ohm range

Thanks for the reply guys. For future reference, would it be ok to sub ohm with this atomizer assuming I have the correct battery (Sony 18650)

Amir_Wazir

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years