1. UP FOR A NEW CHALLENGE? CLICK HERE TO CHECK IT OUT

When is a glitch a safety issue?

Discussion in 'Regulated (Voltage / Wattage / 3.7v/ Temp Control)' started by mikeyboy74, Oct 29, 2018.

  1. mikeyboy74

    mikeyboy74 VU Donator Silver Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    700
    VooPoo Too- 8 months old. Sometimes now, without replacing the tank or coil, the mod reads- new atomizer y/n? Press either, then it reads resistance correctly and works again. Happens after mod sitting for an hour or so. Just an annoyance, or a safety issue?

    Minikin Reborn- my fault, I dropped it the other day. No batteries inside at the time. Mod would not turn on for about 30 seconds. Then it started with 5 clicks, and has not had any issues since. Does it have a safety feature that protected it maybe?
     
  2. f1r3b1rd

    f1r3b1rd Rolling Thunder Staff Member Senior Moderator VU Donator Diamond Contributor Member For 3 Years VU Challenge Team

    Blog Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19,080
    I would say the minikin is fine.
    I shave a pair of minikinV2s they have been through hell. They’ve been dropped and have done the same; but, both run just fine. The minikins are probably a year or two old at this point, and still run strong.

    The lady has a voopootoo. She runs kanthal and hasn’t had any issue. However, with ss it will ask if new or old coil. If you’re running SS or a tc coil, it could Be doing that because at rest the resistance changes. I’m spitballing there, but it doesn’t sound to be much of an issue, assuming everything else is working fine.
    Curious to see what anyone else has to say about that.
     
    mikeyboy74 likes this.
  3. jwill

    jwill The Great King of Nothing VU Donator Gold Contributor VU Challenge Team Reddit Exile

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    3,816
    I have had a few regulated mods that would do this when changing atomizers or coils since the board would read the resistance of each one and check to see if a new coil was installed, so it could adjust itself. I dont think its a fault of the mod, more a design. Are you using SS wire in rebuildables or mesh factory coils?
     
    mikeyboy74 likes this.
  4. mikeyboy74

    mikeyboy74 VU Donator Silver Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    700
    Fireluke Mesh 0.15 kanthal factory coil.

    Happening when mod has been idle awhile, even if tank and coil have not been changed.
     
  5. jwill

    jwill The Great King of Nothing VU Donator Gold Contributor VU Challenge Team Reddit Exile

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    3,816
    I remember reading something on here a while ago about mesh coils doing that for some reason. I dont remember the details specifically but I do recall having read it and that this happens.
     
    f1r3b1rd and mikeyboy74 like this.
  6. HondaDavidson

    HondaDavidson Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    3,895
    Lots of TC mods do this just from atmosPheric variation.... Some tc builds with fluctuate enough going from indoors to outside if the temps are different. The mods senses a change in OHM it asks if you change the coil.. My PICO does this when the battery is getting low....when there is a LARGE variance between resting BATTERY voltage AND VOLTAGE UNDER LOAD. iT CAN ALSO BE A SIGN OF WEAR OR LOOSE CONNECTION IN THE CIRCUIT. It's not always a BAD thing just a quirk of a given mod or build, BUT it is a signal to CHECK....
     
    gopher_byrd and mikeyboy74 like this.

Share This Page

Close This Message