Become a Patron!

Where do I go from here?

Model_A_Ford

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
OK, so I'm new to all this. I just started making coils last week or so on the Crown deck. I tried lots of different builds and most were more or less usable but I'm still shaky on some basic concepts.

I just got a RDA a few hours ago and couldn't wait to try it out.
It's just a REM style clone.

So, I made dual 26 gauge Kanthal 8-wraps on 3mm inner diameter. .54 Ω ...all gravy, no problems, both coils heat fairly evenly.

I'm using the XCube2, at 30 watts. So, it works I guess, but not great. It makes a little cold flavorless "cloud"

TL;DR-how do I build this thing?
DSCN3298_zpszvdutaxx.jpg

Izen

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
In addition to the good advice already posted... (in the future) position the air flow to the extent you can, more inline with the coils, even repositioning the coils a bit if you have to. Also, make sure there's clear space underneath the coils; i.e., get any cotton away from under the center of the coils. The space around the coils should be free and clear.

Model_A_Ford

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
ah, ok. I'll rewick it, in my excitement I was in a rush and just sort of jammed the cotton under there with no space.

Izen

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
ah, ok. I'll rewick it, in my excitement I was in a rush and just sort of jammed the cotton under there with no space.
Should make a discernable difference. Fwiw, Interesting eVic VTC mini crop, for your avatar. If or when you get yourself a Velocity RDA (the clone is very popular), you can have stacked robots. :)

freemind

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
When I first started using RDA's it was suggested to me, that I needed a bunch of cotton.