Become a Patron!

Which Ohm Meter

AlbyKortoona

VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
ECF Refugee
After having 3 elcheapo meters die I got a Coilmaster 521 tab. It's maybe a year old and has been great up till tonight. Now readings are jumping around. Put in a fresh battery, tried a few different attys, same story. It will still fire the atty, but think it gave up the ghost on reading. I'll pull it apart and see what I can see, but don't have high hopes.

Was just about to order a USA Ohm Meters "ultimate" and then thought it might be a good idea to ask the brain trust here. The fire/burn feature on the 521 is so convenient, hate to give up that feature.

Sooo, USA or another 521? Any other worthwhile meters out there? Thanks

vap3r

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
USA Ohm Meter claims accuracy to ± 0.018Ω (no stated count). I have two (Ultimate and 3D printed) which generally read within ± 0.25Ω of one another. Another recommended meter that I have been using for builds below 0.1Ω with excellent results is the Scotts Mod ORDTS.2 firing ohm meter.

ordts.2_vs_usa_3d.jpg

f1r3b1rd

https://cookingwithlegs.com/
Staff member
Senior Moderator
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
VU Challenge Team
Member For 5 Years
VU Patreon
i secnd usa ohm meters... the most accurate and well made meters you will find for vaping

AlbyKortoona

VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
ECF Refugee
I followed the link to the ORDTS.2 and it looks really good but don't see a price or way to purchase. USA has a firing meter for $75, and a 3d printed one for $85 that looks to be a good building platform.

Can you place a bigger than 22 mm atty on that Scotts 510?

raymo2u

VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Unlisted Vendor