Become a Patron!

Why do darker juices shorten the life of wick and gunk coils?

rj9923

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
The answer may be obvious, but I want to be sure. I personally avoid using dark flavorings now for several reasons. Those reasons include that they seem to either taste harsher or worse, they seem to leave residual flavor much longer when switching juices, they seem to not taste well mixed with other flavors, and they seem to slow down wicking.
I don't know if all of these observations stand true, but it is what I see. I am new to diy and regret getting more than half of the flavors I ordered because they are dark and have these traits. I dread vaping them, and only drip them near the end of the lifespan of my cotton about a day or two before I plan on re-wicking.
I only want to use clear flavorings now, but you never know the color until it arrives. What are some common flavorings that are clear? And some common ones that are not? And are there any factual downsides to dark juices including the problems I've mentioned?

OBDave

VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
I find that fruits tend to stay clear, while dessert flavors are more of a mixed bag. My take on the coil/wick gunking is that there are more artificial sweeteners in darker liquids, and these tend to leave a residue when vaped, thus causing more buildup that will create a need for you to re-wick and dry burn your coils clean more often. I use rayon to extend my time between needing to re-wick, some love it and others think I might as well be sucking on a lit cigar stuffed up the tailpipe of a '60s muscle car, so you'll have to make your own call on material.

Pauly Walnuts

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years