Become a Patron!

Why does half my wick get black?

Hey all, new member here but long time reader. So i recently got into RDAs and began building my own coils. I am still fairly new at it but am liking it so far.
My question is why does the short side on my wick seem to not necessarily burn as in getting burnt hits, but blacken rather quickly. Inattached 2 pics to show this, the coil is a .7 twisted coil, organic cotton wick. Does the fact that the short side wick is touching the inner wall have anything to do with this? Its not like stuffed against it, it just kind of brushes up against it

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 221
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 208
Wow sorry for the blurry pics my iphone is having a hard time focusing on the coil/wick but is fine on everything else lol

M5amhan

Silver Contributor
Member For 5 Years
yea it has to do with the wick sitting against the wall. idk why it happens just does. try centering your coils out, just push them over with a screw driver or something

Neunerball

Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
ECF Refugee
yea it has to do with the wick sitting against the wall. idk why it happens just does. try centering your coils out, just push them over with a screw driver or something
You can't center the coil on a TOBH.

- wick is too thin/thick on that side of the coil
- the coil doesn't start glowing from the middle to the sides of the coil. Therefore, the leg on that side gets too hot, might even glow, thus burning the wick.

+ make sure the leads of the coil are of equal length (coil to posts).

Lefty

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
The darker side is drying out faster.

ej1024

VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Wrong wicking,loose screws it should be like this
BIGBOYVAPER

Attachments

• WP_20150320_001.jpg
    WP_20150320_001.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 156

Dr3d