Become a Patron!

wismec notch coil production

2c5000

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
the leads on the wismec notch coils... are they soldered on or welded?

is there a solder for SS that will be safe to use for TC? or what about dry burning? is there a solder that has such a high melting point that even at 600F it wont offgas or do anything nasty?

nightshard

It's VG/PG not PG/VG
VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Looks like spot welding to me.
A solder wouldn't hold at such high temp.

2c5000

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Looks like spot welding to me.
A solder wouldn't hold at such high temp.

i thought that as well, but as i search the web i see whats called hard soldering? then i looked up the melting point for dif types of solder and there are some that wont melt up to over 1200F. so thats why i asked.

i have very little soldering experience and zero welding. welding SS can be quite difficult from what i gather. so soldering would be considerably easier.

nightshard

It's VG/PG not PG/VG
VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
For you to manually do it yes, that's why it's done automatically.

nightshard

It's VG/PG not PG/VG
VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
By a machine or a robot arm.

Last edited:

HondaDavidson

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Thing is are the legs SS or Nickle or something else?????? Most of premade coils I have used had nickle legs...You want low or non resistant wire for the legs. Off gassing shouldn't be an issue.. 1st because in use, coils don't get that hot. Also If your legs are glowing....you did it wrong.

2c5000

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Thing is are the legs SS or Nickle or something else?????? Most of premade coils I have used had nickle legs...You want low or non resistant wire for the legs. Off gassing shouldn't be an issue.. 1st because in use, coils don't get that hot. Also If your legs are glowing....you did it wrong.