Become a Patron!

Cotton candy wicking questions

pizzadave80

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Sooo..first off..as a new builder, I went into my local B&M and was going to grab some building supplies. I left with some 26g kanthal and cotton candy wicking material. He said it would give me great flavor, and I'd never wanna go to straight cotton after that.

I am building on an avocsdo, and have had mediocre success with cotton candy. Some times it wicks great, other times I get a dry hit after two hits. I've watched many avocado wicking vids, so I think I'm not messing it up. I loosely have the wicking in the coils, and I barely have it stuck into the juice holes. When I am priming the cotton, it doesn't really seem all that absorbent and seems to take time to get soaked in. Anybody out there with tips on this stuff?
5baedcfc58821fae23060118cdc273d2.jpg

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

Paratech

I forgot
VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
For me, I get along better with Cotton Bacon and I also use more of it.
But everyone is different.

rsimpson

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
I tried cotton candy and didn't care for it myself, had the same issue with dry hits. I stick with rayon or japanese organic cotton myself

pizzadave80

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Seems like it would be OK for a dripper....where you are soaking manually and not wicking from a tank?

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

HondaDavidson

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
maybe the problem is you are using some kind of "method".

Me I insert the amount of wick the build requires. Then cut the legs to 1/2" to 3/4", push them into the tank..... Fill, I'm single coil, so insert spacer/plug, add a drop or 2 on the coil, put on cap. Reduce watts to 1/2 what I'm going to vape. Take a few short draws.. Turn wattage back up.... Enjoy.