Become a Patron!

Help with Charging 18650 using a SkyRC Imax B6 for the first time!

Hello,

This is my first post and I wish to point out that I'm new to mechnical mods and eager to learn more, I have just received a charger and couple of batteries to get me started but before I proceed I have some hopefully easy to answer questions. I'm using a SkyRC Imax B6 charger and LG LGDBHE221865 (LG 18650HE2).

Using a volt meter my batteries read 3.55v and from what I've learned is that I need to top them up to a maximum of 4.2v, sounds easy right! well maybe I purchased a charger too complicated for my tiny brain. Turning on the SkyRC I'm greeted with a ton of options and I'm confused which to pick. I believe the batteries I've purchased run at Nominal Voltage (V) 3.6v and I believe they are LiIo and not LiPo. The charger doesn't actually have a setting for 4.2v but does however have LilO 3.6v and LiPo 3.7v. I'm assuming the right option would be 3.6v LiLo and if I'm not mistaken the charger will stop at 4.2v?

Below is details of the batter I'm using

Chemistry: Li[NiMnCo]O2 (H-NMC) / Graphite + SiO
Nominal Voltage: 3.6v

Charge Method
Nominal: 1.25A 4.2V, 50mA End-current (CC-CV)
Fast: 4A 4.2V, 100mA End-current (CC-CV)

So here's my question

Do I select Lilo 3.6v?
Will LiLo 3.6v and LiPo 3.7v charge till 4.2v using an iMax b6?
Is it correct to say that for a normal charge I should set 1.25a on this batteries?
Should I ever consider using rapid charge at 4A? if no, why not!

UncleRJ

Will write reviews for Beer!
Staff member
Senior Moderator
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
Reviewer
I don't have a stinking clue:(

Eventually somone will show up to answer. If not reach out to Hobby Kid as he is more than likely to be able to answer your question.

MrScaryZ

VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 5 Years
Hello,