Become a Patron!

Let's Talk Smuggling....er....Importing

VT Andrew

Founding Vendor
Founding Vendor
VU Vendor
Show Host
In my previous life, I worked in imports/exports. I am actually a federally licensed customs broker. I'd just like to open the floor for a discussion on importing in this industry. By my estimates, I'd say roughly 3/4 of the products imported by vendors in this industry are either fraudulently imported, or borderline smuggled into the country.

If you are purchasing ANY product and NOT paying duties, it's probably ILLEGAL (unless it's under $200 and for your own personal use, which is covered by Section 321). If the shipper declares an INCORRECT VALUE...YOU as the US IMPORTER OF RECORD are responsible, and therefore breaking the law by avoiding Customs duties and merchandise processing fees.

Thoughts?

VT Andrew

Founding Vendor
Founding Vendor
VU Vendor
Show Host
Ex. Any time you order a package and the value declared on the side of the box (or on the paperwork attached) does not declare the value that you paid, it's likely being done so to bypass Customs and Border Protection duties and fees. And CBP doesn't NOT like this. Penalties for getting caught could be upwards of $50,000 for the first offense, and you will NOT be able to plead ignorance...

For this reason, and the fact that there are no proper classifications in the Harmonized Tariff Schedule, I rarely will import anything. That being said, the few times where I have purchased high-end mods from overseas, I have educated the shipper/mod maker on the proper way to declare the values.

Usually, a mod maker or small company will be more than happy to declare the actual value, but often times I'm met with "That will make you pay higher fees, we declare low value to save you money" This is fraud, and complete ignorance by someone who KNOWS that they have no responsibility. You as THE IMPORTER will be the one who gets burned...

CaFF

Platinum Contributor
Member For 5 Years