Become a Patron!

OCC heads and rebuilding coils

Aesthete18

Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Hi there, I've been posting quite a bit lately so I apologize but I'm really just trying to study this stuff as a newbie.

I have an iJust2 and currently using an Aromamizer tank but I'm not too happy with it. The juice noticeably decreases if I do not touch vape not sure why. Either way, it also eats up a bit of juice anyway, it leaks through the rubber and I've been meaning to try its original tank.

Okay, so here's the problem. I don't understand anything about the original tank. I've been watching videos and searching the net but it isn't helping much. All I know is it uses an OCC head? Okay, so I asked a friend of mine he says the head (I'm thinking it's the metal piece that houses the coil?) needs to be disposed every two weeks and a new one is priced at 20 bucks (in my country). I've been smoking for 13 years and I've managed to bring it down to 1 pack a week and sometimes but rarely 3 packs in 2 weeks. If I'm spending 20 bucks on just a piece of metal, it isn't very cost efficient not to mention I love smoking cigs more than vaping anyway. After watching some videos, I notice that you can just recoil and change the cotton. So why would you throw the head? I'm very confused about this.

In terms of coiling, I'm thinking since it comes with a 0.3 and 0.5 ohm coils, I need to do it with that resistance? What gauge wires do I need to use that's optimum for an iJust2 tank?

Huckleberried

VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 5 Years
VU Patreon
Those can be rebuilt, but not everyone likes to, so they toss ;em. At that price, I'd want to rebuild, too! You can build it to whatever resistance you prefer. 26g kanthal might be your best bet for that resistance. I use 28 for a bit higher resistance in RTA tanks, but I've tried it in a couple coil heads, too.

Aesthete18

Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year