Become a Patron!

Advice needed with Tesla Stealth 100W

Hi fellow Vapers

Im very new to vaping as just 2 weeks ago i purchased a Smok AL85 kit but didn't like the tank kept leaking and then i tried a friend's set up which was Tesla Stealth 40W with Kangertech Subtank Mini and i loved the flavor and ease of use, so i decided to try and make the same set up

I went for the 100W because I thought the battery was better but not having any screen makes it hard for me to set it up nicely.

I built a 5 wraps, 2'5mm, 28 gauge Kanthal coil, into the Kangertech Subtank Mini's single coil RBA

The problem is that mod fires too hot and easily getting dry hit, can't take one nice looong drag without that throat burning sensation. Can anyone tell me what Im doing wrong?

With the exact same tank set up, when i move it to the AL85, i can only vape at about 8-9W without getting the same burning feeling. And that coil reads 1.175ohms on this device, but with 5 wraps shouldn't it be around 0.5ohms?

Sorry for the noob questions, but I hope some kind soul can tell me what im doing wrong.

midknight420

VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
My coil calculator says that you should be around 0.94Ω on a single coil. Being only about .15Ω off off that isn't too bad actually.

As for the dry hits, you might make sure that your wicking isn't to tight on your tank. That's an easy problem to fix usually with a bit of trial and error.

The mod getting hot is a different story. Unless you are putting way too many amps (which I doubt with that build, as that wattage), I don't see why it is getting hot. Perhaps @CrazyChef or @raymo2u can chime in and see if they can find a good reason for this issue.

Welcome to VU and I hope this helps a bit in your issue.

Sent from my LGMS550 using Tapatalk

My coil calculator says that you should be around 0.94Ω on a single coil. Being only about .15Ω off off that isn't too bad actually.