Become a Patron!

Battery Question for sx350 build

Brian L

VU Donator
Member For 4 Years
I'm about to start a 60 watt SX350-based build. I had initially planned on, and ordered a single 18650 battery for it, but now I'm wondering if it might be better to use two 18650's instead of the single. I would like to keep the size down, but more importantly, I want it to be able to go all day on a single charge. This is my first build of this nature so I thought I'd poll the experts here. I'm also wondering if, when using dual batteries, it would be better to run them in series or parallel. I've seen it done both ways, but am unsure if that affects the ability to charge via USB. Any insight would be most appreciated.

Mike H.

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Dual parallel will double your batteries MAh capacity...meaning if you use 2 2500 mah batteries you now have 5000 mah but still a maximum of 4.2 volts...That should last a bit in the day...lol

Running series will double your voltage to 8.4v but still only give you 2500mah with both batteries...you dont need that much voltage at 60w...not even sure if the chip is made for that much voltage input anyway.

I prefer to charge batteries out of my devices but i dont see why you couldnt charge through a USB port in parallel...1 amp might take a while to charge it however.

Id go parallel for the added capacity, myself.

Last edited:

Brian L

VU Donator
Member For 4 Years
Thanks, Mike! That's just what I needed. I'm not too worried about charging. I installed outlets in my house that have 3.6 amp output usb ports in them. I want to primarily use USB for charging so I can charge it anywhere I happen to be, if need be, and not have to carry around any extra stuff.

Jackson

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
You can't use a series stack with that chip.

Input Voltage 3.2 Volts 3.7 Volts 4.5 Volts

Brian L

VU Donator