Become a Patron!

Burnt Coils/ Chemical Taste

Hi Everyone!

I'm fairly new to vaping, ~2 months, and it has help me quit smoking completely! I purchased a Sigelei 90W Spark starter kit at my local vape shop. It came with the mod, tank, Kanthal coil and nickel coil. Those coils lasted about 3 weeks each. When the nickel coil started tasting burnt I switched back to Kanthal because I preferred to control the power rather than the temp. I found it taste better. I purchased a box of 5 replacement coils, kanthal 0.5ohm.

I'm still fairly new, but I feel confident that I can prime the coils properly. I removed the old coil and put in the new. Then I soak the cotton at the top and the cotton on sides. Next I fill the tank about 7/8 of the way full and put it back on and let the whole thing rest for about 15 minutes. After that I take some dry pulls before starting it off low, around 10w. After a few pulls, I'll bump it up to 15w and then 20w etc until I get to the power I like for whatever juice I'm vaping. Some juices I like around 30w others taste best around 55w. I've never vaped it higher than that.

My question is with this new box of coils, each one is lasting less and less. The first coil was fine for about 4 days. Then I started getting a burnt/chemical taste that wouldn't go away. I switched to a new coil, drained and cleaned the tank, and primed it like I always have using a different juice. It started out just fine, but after 2 days, I got the harsh chemical/burnt taste again. The next two coils lasted about a day. Finally, I took my rig back to the vape shop with the final coil and told them what was going on. They said I wasn't priming it properly and using too thin of a juice (65/35). I had the guy there prime it with my last coil and a 20/80 I have from Mt. Baker Vapor (Beast Treats). He primed it exactly like I did and told me it should be fine. I vaped it in the shop for about 15 minutes and all was well.