Become a Patron!

Coils

hogboy261

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
I've been making coils for a few months now. I'm wanting clouds, so I'm using 22 and 24 gauge wire doing dual parallel. My coils seem to get out of shape quick. I pulse them and squeeze them prior to wicking, but they will not stay in shape. Any advice?

UncleRJ

Will write reviews for Beer!
Staff member
Senior Moderator
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
Reviewer
How long are your pulses?

I just hit the power until they glow a very bright red, release the switch and pinch with my needle nose pliers.

hogboy261

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
I get them about as hot as they will get pulsing them. I know I need to invest in ceramic tweezers. They look decent to start with but not a real clean tight coil.

UncleRJ

Will write reviews for Beer!
Staff member
Senior Moderator
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
Reviewer
With wire that thick, I don't PULSE them.

Bright cherry red then a pinch.

Repeat if needed.

Just using standard needle nose pliers and making sure there is no current being delivered when I pinch.

No ceramic tweezers needed and my coils last until I feel like replacing them.

In a month or so.

OBDave

VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
I don't use ceramic, but I do get coils nice and hot, then squeeze after I stop firing, as @UncleRJ does.

Now are your coils not coming out pretty to begin with, or do they get bent out of shape when you're wicking them? That could be a sign of way too much wick...

hogboy261

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
I know it's not too much wick. I wrap them by hand and try to get them tight as I can but they just seem to move up and down. I'm only getting four or five days then I get hot spots and wavy coils.

OBDave

VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years