Become a Patron!

Dual 18650 (parallel ) safe?

This is my first time posting and my first time attempting to build my own box mod. I wanted to know if wiring two 18650 batteries in series is safe and if I should use a mosfet for the switch. If I'm right in my calculations I can hit over 150 watts. But I don't want to blow my face up in the process. If anyone could shed some light on this is be very grateful.

Also wiring is not my thing and circuits kinda confuse me about where to put them. My parts will be here at the end of the week and I like to be prepared to get started asap so if anyone could draw me a schematic I would surely appreciate it. I want to wire in a led, a voltage meter and an on off switch.
Thanks in advance

Last edited:

Fenrjsulfr

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Use a MOSFET. Safely using an unregulated box mod without one will severely limit your power (wattage) options.

A series configuration can be safe if you know what you are doing. Running in series doubles your voltage, but keeps the same mAh and Amp limitations of an individual cell. You would have an operating voltage range of 8.4-7.0v (low end will depend on Amp load and batteries' safe discharge voltage).

A parallel configuration keeps the voltage of an individual cell, but doubles the mAh. In theory, it should double the Amp limit, but in practice it will be closer to a 40% increase. So in paralleling 30A batteries, you can expect a working limit of 42A.