Become a Patron!

ejuice bothering throat?

Ok so I'm relatively new to vaping (3 weeks). My problem/question is do certain juices bother your throat. I'll give as much info as possible. I used to be a heavy smoker and i still have the occasional analog during this transition. I have all kinds of different flavours from different vendors and they are all low nic (7mg) they are either a 50/50 or 60/40 pg/vg blend. I use two different thanks. A aspire atlantis(.5ohm) and a kanger subtank mini (.5ohm). I usually vape between 15 and 30w depending on the flavor. So with all that info I use some juice and they are awesome and I can use them no problem. But others bother my throat. It's like a dry scratchy sensation. Is this common that some juice flavours just don't agree with you? Also even with the flavors I vape successfully I find I get the same sensation when I go to vape after my mod has been siting for an hour or so. Maybe the first 10 hits are dry and irritating and then it starts to work fine almost like it needed a "warm up" period. I tried giving primer puffs. But it doesn't seem to matter.

fwtechwiz

Member For 4 Years
Hi, welcome!! I'm new to vaping too, but have a friend at work who offered me some valuable advice. It sounds to me like your PG/VG ratio on your juice is the problem. PG is the ingredient that carries the throat hit. Too much PG and you'll get a heavy throat hit that can bother your throat, especially if you're vaping on a sub ohm tank. I have a Kanger sub ohm mini, using the RBA with a .6 ohm coil. My juice is a 30/70 PG/VG blend, and it's a nice, smooth throat hit and still has plenty of flavor. Try reducing your PG and see if it helps.

outwest

VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
The dry, scratchy, is (imho) probably too high of a PG ratio, like fwtechwiz mentioned. From my experience, you can also get that from wick not wicking properly or irritation from an allergy to an ingredient in flavor.