Become a Patron!

First RDA build. Dual coils for .6, Mad Hatter.

IAmRob

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Hey guys, this is my first build and I'm looking to get some feedback on it. So far its performance has been great for me and actually suits what I was going for, but I'm looking for some tips on how to improve the build itself. This is on a Mad Hatter authentic that I actually picked up for a steal today at my local shop. It reads .6 ohms across my eleaf 50 watt, and i've got it running at 35 watts. Could I run it at a higher wattage?

Thanks for reading.

point6 ohm first build.jpg

OBDave

VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
1. I'd get a standalone ohm meter - the eLeaf is nice as a secondary check, but not the most reliable and it's good to have backup.

2. Try dry-firing and squeezing gently with tweezers to get the coils to contact uniformly before wicking.

3. Yes, you should be able to push higher wattage.

4. Nice work for a first attempt!

IAmRob

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
1. I'd get a standalone ohm meter - the eLeaf is nice as a secondary check, but not the most reliable and it's good to have backup.

2. Try dry-firing and squeezing gently with tweezers to get the coils to contact uniformly before wicking.

3. Yes, you should be able to push higher wattage.

4. Nice work for a first attempt!

Appreciate the feedback Dave, i'll be getting a standalone and ceramic tweezers soon. I've only had needle nose pliers so I didnt want to run current while squeezing it, so I only was able to squeeze as it cooled down.

Edit: Just rebuild two parallel 1.2 ohm coils, 5 wraps of 28 g kanthal around some screwdriver I had. Looks better to me and the coils were more consistent in their lighting when I fired it before wicking. I also used less cotton for more airflow below the coils. How does this look?mod.jpg mod3.jpg mod2.jpg mod.jpg

Last edited:

OBDave