Become a Patron!

Help with a Smok Stick V8 Baby

Hi, noob here. Sorry if the questions I'm about to ask have already been answered in other threads, but I scanned the forums for over an hour and didn't find anything that solved my specific problem, so I made an account.

I recently got into vaping and I purchased a Smok Stick V8 Baby which has been working fine for a little over a month until just yesterday when the button light started doing the 4 blinks telling me that something is wrong with the tank, or coil, or whatever. But I had just installed a new coil (a Smok coil that came with the kit itself) and had even used it for a good 20-30 drags (in about an hour) before the problem started.

After taking all the pieces apart and inspecting for tell-tale signs of failure on the mod's part, or idiocy on my part, nothing seemed out of the ordinary. It just flat-out wasn't firing anymore. Then, after a little more playing around with it, I discovered that it would actually fire when the tank was only screwed on about halfway! If I screwed the tank all the way in, the light would blink and the mod wouldn't fire. Unscrew it again just a bit so that it's kinda wobbly but not falling all the way out, and it fires just fine!

Also, it seemed to be slightly hotter than usual after a few test fires at the halfway connected mode, but nothing overly concerning. I'm guessing the higher temp was just from heat being able to escape easier due to the tank not being screwed all the way in?

Seems as if the connection is fine but what would cause this particular issue? Does anyone know? I haven't used it since, and I won't until I know what's going on. Don't want to risk melting my face. But, I'd really like to vape and I don't have money to blow on a new mod right now, especially since I just bought this one and I really like it.

Any ideas?

zephyr

Dirty Pirate Meg
VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Unlisted Vendor