Become a Patron!

I'm new to Temp Control and I need help!

Jack Merridew

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
I'm considering buying a Sigelei mini 75W along with an Orchid V6. Problem is I don't know a thing about Temp Control. I do know that resistance is extremely low with nickel build and that kind of scares me, since I usually vape at around 1ohm.

Could somebody please explain the difference between nickel and kanthal? I don't want to make the switch and regret buying the mod. Also are dual coils suitable for temp control?

Thanks in advance!

conanthewarrior

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
I own the Sig 75Watt, IPV D2, and Smok Xcube 2. Out of the 3, the Sig75 does TC the worst (Thats not to say it does not work though, it just doesn't do it as well).

For the price, you could get a D2 which is actually cheaper, 75 watt/50 joule in TC mode.

Getting onto your question,buy TEMPERED NI200. It is not soft like normal NI200, so It will feel like you are building with kanthal. Get some 30, 28, and 26 gauge (I use 26 for Single coils, 30 for dual coils as it is otherwise too many wraps).

It takes about 13 wraps a side for dual coil with 30 gauge, with 26 gauge it is about 30 so not possible really lol, that is round a 2mm driver so if you want less wraps use a 3MM, but I found 2mm to be the best as I only have 30 and 26 gauge at the moment. 28 Is more ideal as it will be about 10 wraps.

Its not scary, do not be scared. Your device is simply stepping down the voltage when it hits your set temp, to try and keep it around that temp, once it is reached, it will drop power, untill it reches heat again, then drop, and this happens multiple times in one 5 second pull (or 3 Second, whatever you like really)

With 30 gauge it is 6 wraps around a 2MM driver, to get 0.1 which is within TC's working range. If I want it lower, I simply remove one wrap and it usually is between 0.06-0.08 Ohms.