Become a Patron!

Liquids taste bland

Hello!
I'm kinda new to vaping, the vape I use I bought only like a month ago. I am using sigelei top 1 with joyetech procore air plus tank and 0.15 ohm coils at about 60-70 watts, 50/50 liquids @ 2-3 mg nicotine.
I've been having trouble with the e liquid taste. It just doesn't taste right, tastes very bland, much of nothing good, and after a couple minutes even burnt. I thought I had vapers tongue but turns out that wasn't the issue, since I was able to taste the same liquids out of my friends vape just fine. I prime my coils well.
For some weird reason, what seems to help lately, is opening the top of the tank (where I'd fill it with liquid) for a little while. After that, the liquid's taste is back for a couple inhales, then it goes back to bland. Also, opening the top for a while makes the coil overfload. I am aware of how weird it sounds.
I have tried different liquids and exchanging the coil. Could the tank be the problem? Should I try different VG/PG liquids? When I smell the liquid in the tank, it smells right, it's not like the heat makes it go bad.

I could use any advice.
Thanks in advance.

Vape Fan

_evil twin_
Staff member
Senior Moderator
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Press Corps
Member For 5 Years
Starving for juice maybe. No burnt wick taste?
Try pocking a few holes in the wick with a needle.

SteveS45

Diamond Contributor
ECF Refugee
Member For 5 Years
Could also be that you are pushing too much wattage. I have found over the years that many liquids taste better (at least to me that is) when I fire at a lower wattage. Sort of like a steak if you grill it well done it tastes like shoe leather.

Vape Fan

_evil twin_
Staff member
Senior Moderator
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Press Corps
Member For 5 Years