Become a Patron!

Need help with info on if I need to leave top cap on or off during steeping and how long do I steep

Chillaxman

Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Hello all, this is my first time steeping. I'm not really gonna go too deep on steeping at the moment, just wanted to steep the e juice that I bought online. I have an ultrasonic cleaner, specifically an iSonic P8420, model SPB25. It has a 25 minute max timer and a heater with a preset of 149F/65C. How long do I have the steep the e juice and do I keep pressing reset as I steep or let the Ultrasonic rest for a bit just incase it overheats or something? Do I also use the heater throughout the steeping process? I have a dropper with a dropper cap, do I leave the cap on or off? If I leave it on, is it safe and will it taste chemically?

JuicyLucy

My name is Lucy and I am a squonkaholic
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
ECF Refugee
VU Challenge Team
Member For 5 Years
There are many philosophies on heat steeping

Main reason to take cap off is to allow for heat expansion

Frankly, I find heat steeping overrated and also have stopped taking caps off at all for steeping

Others may have different opinions/advice :)

Chillaxman

Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Thank you for your reply :) Ah i see. I'm planning to steep soon so a set up of a glass dropper with the glass dropper cap still on with no heat being used and just turn on for 2 hours would be the set up? I just have a thought, do I need to take breaks during the steeping process after 25 minutes or will there be overheating or is it just fine to keep pressing on?

gopher_byrd

Cranky Old Fart
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
ECF Refugee
Member For 5 Years
VU Patreon
I don't mess with any steeping rituals, time is the best way to age a juice and allow the molecules to meld.