Become a Patron!

New to vaping and ready to try making my own e-liquid

GeorgeT93

Member For 1 Year
Hi everyone,

I'm new to vaping, as it seems to be helping me quit smoking (I haven't had a cigarette since last Wednesday after being a 35 year pack or more a day Marlboro red smoker!!) While I'm still very new to this whole vaping scene, I feel more confident than ever that I could actually live my life without traditional cigarettes. I've tried a couple of different tobacco-ish juices that taste good, but as I started learning more about the e-liquids, I was amazed to find that people could just make them at home!

In any case, I've decided that I want to try my hand at making some of my own e-liquid. I plan on starting out with small batches (10ml) to try some of the different recipes I've come across online, and have my cart loaded up with some flavors, 48mg nic (pg), pg and vg. Now I'm planning on getting 250ml of the nic, and 500ml of each (pg and vg), which I figure should give me a good amount of bases to work with while I'm getting started. My question is really centered around storage. I know I should store the nic in a tinted glass bottle, with as little air as possible in a cool, dark place (freezer). What I don't know is does this mean I *have* to use the brown bottles, or are the cobalt ones ok? Also, do the same storage rules apply to the pg and vg bases, or should those not be frozen or put in glass bottles?

Thanks for any tips or pointers.
-George

Smoky Blue

VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Unlisted Vendor
Member For 5 Years
I know I should store the nic in a tinted glass bottle, with as little air as possible in a cool, dark place (freezer). What I don't know is does this mean I *have* to use the brown bottles, or are the cobalt ones ok? Also, do the same storage rules apply to the pg and vg bases, or should those not be frozen or put in glass bottles?

-George