Become a Patron!

New to Vaping. In consistent cloud and flavor. Sometimes cottony chemical flavor

Hi,

I am new to vaping and purchased V-8 Baby from Smok a week ago. It seems ok but I notice I get inconsistent hits. If the tank is low on juice. The cloud is heavy and the throat hit is light. This is perfect. But sometimes it tastes strange. Like cotton or chemicals. If the tank is filled up more, say over 1/4 of the way, the hits seems hot and less cloud. I tried adjusting the air intake but it is still wonky,

Any ideas?

I am using the .15 coil that comes pre installed.

Thanks in advance

Last edited:

gbalkam

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
Reddit Exile
I find I get a slight cottony taste when the wick starts drying out, not really burnt, but rather like drying socks on the oven door. lol. Throat hit is mainly from the juice and pg level. Best I can say is keep adjusting your power and air (and mouth piece) until you find what you like. (larger hole in mouth piece = more cloud / less flavor, smaller hole = more flavor / less cloud.

Hillbilly Pig

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Reddit Exile
Okay as a rule of thumb, always keep your tank at least half full, though you do want to change up flavors to avoid vape tongue. Throat hit is determined mostly by PG content, check the PG/VG content on your bottle of juice, and try to find something right for you. For example, I started with a 50/50 but didn't like the harshness so I changed to a 30pg/70vg. If it seems too hot, the watts may be too high and the resistance too low for you right now. While this may not be true for everyone, it's not recommended for a beginner to start with sub ohm vaping. You might want to set the baby aside for now and get something more geared towards beginners, just my opinion though don't read too much into it.

Welcome to VU and the great world of vaping :vino:

Letitia9

Citrus Junkie
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
VU Challenge Team