Become a Patron!

Questions about mech mods.

Church3232

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
So I'm fairly new to vaping, and since I started I've only been using variable wattage devices. I guess I don't realy understand mech mods. I was wondering what if any are the advantages of a mech rather than a vv/vw device. I use a sigelei 100w plus right now, what can mech do that this can't? Also from what I've gathered they can be dangerous if not used correctly. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Pancho_Brown

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Honestly the 100 watt device beats the mechanical mod in most aspects other than size and looks. With a mechanical mod you are going to have to build your coils low to try and squeeze out as much power as possible from the 18650 battery that your using and that is where it can get dangerous if you don't know the limits of your battery.

State O' Flux

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
100 watts from a regulated mod can be "forced" onto a build (to obtain a higher heat flux value) with a higher resistance value than you would use to discharge 100 watts from a mech mod... (a resistance of 0.17Ω to discharge 100 watts from an 1865/30a battery... assuming a zero voltage drop).

State O' Flux

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
I have no idea what you just said lol,
That's OK... unless you learn about and understand the values I refer to, Ohm's law formulas can be intimidating... as can important build/power values like heat flux and heat capacity.

If you use mechs or high output regulated devices, rebuild your attys... and want to advance your vapists education considerably, then click on the sigline hyperlinks below, and read read read.
wink.gif

Church3232

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years