Become a Patron!

Sensitivity to DIY Ingredients?

Bundy71

Member For 2 Years
I've been vaping for 3+ years and never had any physical reactions/problems with commercial e-liquid, other than the price!

I'm pretty new to DIY (2 months) and feel like I'm starting to get a "bad" reaction to my eliquid. I was fine for the first month and a half, but every night for the last 10 days or so I get a sore throat and congestion, and wake up the same way. By around noon I seem to be fine. Wash, rinse, repeat.

I use flavorings from all the common name brands: CAP, TPA, FA, FLV, INW, LA, etc., and I don't use excessive amounts in recipes (usually around 8%-12%). My nic is 100mg/ml VaporsTek, and most of my mixes are 3mg. My PG/VG is Nature's Oil from Bulk Apothecary.

I assume it's not the flavorings since they are the same the commercial guys use, which leaves the nic and PG/VG. Has anyone ever had a sensitivity or reaction they were able to track to specific ingredients? Has PG/VG from a specific brand caused anyone problems? Same for nic?

gopher_byrd

Cranky Old Fart
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
ECF Refugee
Member For 5 Years
VU Patreon
Try vaping your PG/VG unflavored first in the ratio you normally use. No reaction, then add your nic. Still no reaction, then you will need to do single flavor testing to find the culprit. Sorry no magic bullet... Hopefully you don't have 400+ flavors like some of us... :giggle:

wildgypsy70

“Widgy Pidgy”
Staff member
Senior Moderator
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
VU Challenge Team
Member For 5 Years
VU Patreon
Try vaping your PG/VG unflavored first in the ratio you normally use. No reaction, then add your nic. Still no reaction, then you will need to do single flavor testing to find the culprit. Sorry no magic bullet... Hopefully you don't have 400+ flavors like some of us... :giggle:
Lordy, if I had to do that......:giggle::giggle::giggle:I think I might cry.......

Just Frank

Platinum Contributor
Member For 5 Years