Become a Patron!

Smok Alien TC and questions about changing the ohms.

strigamort

Bronze Contributor
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Hi guys. I've been playing with my Alien in order to find the best vape with my Vandy Vape Kylin. I have two twisted SS coils in there. I'm new to vaping so bear with me.

The coils are pre-made and were registering too low ohms. Fortunately the leads were long enough that I could wrap an extra coil which brought up the resistance to .102ohms I had read about raising the ohms manually and I raised it to .25ohms. I'm vaping around 55 watts and the volts are just under 4v with an amp reading around 15amps. Is this safe for the board? I reckon it's fine, but my roommate (a vaper and electrician) says that I'm going to fry the board.

When I try to manually adjust the ohms higher than .25ohms I either get the "don't abuse product", or "coil short" screen. Why does this happen? I can continue to raise the ohms, but cannot fire the mod.

My last question regards tc. I bought SS coils because I'd read that tc regulates your chosen temp (works great), that it saves battery (no idea) and that it is safer if/when my cup in the cup holder in my car accidentally fires the mod. That makes perfect sense. Problem is that I don't get up to temp (even 200f) for a very long time. I mean I can obviously raise the ramp wattage but then the amps go through the roof, way above the 18-20 rating of my hg2's.

I'm far from an electrician but I would love some technical data so that I can understand what's going on, and to know that I'm keeping everything safe.

I'm buying some wire to start building my own coils. I'm very mechanically inclined and didn't realize how easy it is.

Thanks peeps.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3000 using Tapatalk

315jessie

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Make sure your leads are tight ... my alien will fire fine then say ohms too low