Become a Patron!

Twisted ss question

Randy Mullins

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
You guys are the best knowledge base i know of so here goes.
I want to try some twisted 26ga 316l ss wire or possibly twisted 24ga 316l ss in my boreas.
I just want to get an idea on id size and wraps to get me around .25 ohms

Thanks in advance

Everpresentnewb

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
ECF Refugee
well with 24G twisted for .25 at 3mm ID you will need 20.5 wraps if your making dual coils... 26G you will need 13.5 wraps. Good luck fitting that in the deck... :)

Randy Mullins

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Wow thats crazy numbers...im still new to building. Ive got a 26ga twisted kanthal at .3 right now and enjoy it but was wanting to give stainless a go with the twisted wire.
Any advice on that

Everpresentnewb

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
ECF Refugee
what mod are you using? I regularly build with SS around .13 on my RX and I CAN build down to .007 on my Hohm Wrecker G2. I assume you have a meter? build and see what happens. Just dont fire anything until you meter it.

I really love fused claptons, 2x24G wrapped in 32 or 34G ss. 3.5mm 6 wraps. comes about .15 or somewhere around there. Ive done zipper builds with kanthal, but with how low resistance SS is unless your mod can fire real low safely its hard to make the big fancy builds. try a simple single strand spaced build 10 wraps, 3mm will be your .25. with 3.5mm it would be 9 wrps. Just build and measure and see what happens.