Become a Patron!

Using laptop batteries with regulated mod

I recently pulled two 3.6v 9wh batteries from a laptop battery pack I had lying around. My question is if a regulated mod would protect from them from overheating or potentially blowing up. I know they're not very safe for use in mechanical mods at all, but I wonder if regulated devices are safe since they have protection chips and such?

Sent from my STUDIO ENERGY 2 using Tapatalk

The Vape Crusader

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year

I dunno man. I mean, understand why you're asking... that's a lot of capacity. But dude, If it's not made for it, you probably shouldn't use it... just my thoughts, I'm not an electrical expert.

PS: These are the kinds of threads that make the trolls come out. I'm not trolling you, but just be emotionally prepared for some keyboard tough guys to emerge from the shadows and call you crazy or stupid or whatever... which you're not... you're just asking a question.

Deucesjack

VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
I'm not trying to be a jerk but why would you even bother? Good batteries are not expensive especially when you compare the price of new batteries to a hospital stay.

Sent from my GT-N8013 using Tapatalk

I'm not trying to be a jerk but why would you even bother? Good batteries are not expensive especially when you compare the price of new batteries to a hospital stay.

Understand what you're saying I just figure I'll ask before I throw them out if say one of my he4's goes out on me, I just wanted to know if I could use them for short term

Deucesjack

VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
I wouldn't bro, just chuck them.

I dunno man. I mean, understand why you're asking... that's a lot of capacity. But dude, If it's not made for it, you probably shouldn't use it... just my thoughts, I'm not an electrical expert.