Become a Patron!

vaping with copper

CashNVape

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
so what happens when your brass or copper rda starts to tarnish.... or patina inside a rda or tank, are you vaping toxins?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

voicenyerhed

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
so what happens when your brass or copper rda starts to tarnish.... or patina inside a rda or tank, are you vaping toxins?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
I don't know the dangers of vaping with copper per say, but I do know that you can get too much copper in your system. As a nurse I have seen this with someone who had oxidizing copper water pipes. That person got quite sick & was lucky it was caught in time. I don't know how much you'll actually get from vaping, though.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

r055co

VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
We've been cooking in copper, drinking water from copper pipes, breathing in steam from copper pipes, etc. etc. for centuries.

I'm not concerned, just keep it clean and you'll be fine.

Rickajho

Gold Contributor
Member For 3 Years
ECF Refugee
I don't know the dangers of vaping with copper per say, but I do know that you can get too much copper in your system. As a nurse I have seen this with someone who had oxidizing copper water pipes.

That takes a very specialized set of circumstances to occur, including a combination of factors like poorly installed copper pipes (too much flux), leaking water heater etc.

I don't know how much you'll actually get from vaping, though.

Dunno - it's unknown territory. But to even get close to toxic ingestion levels with cookware it has to be unlined (bare) copper cookware, used pretty much on a daily basis, and exposed to high acid type foods for long periods of time. It seems like it would take a lot to produce anything toxic with an RDA, considering the small amount of material involved. (Versus a 4 quart copper bowl or an entire household plumbing system.)