Become a Patron!

Which ohm level to aim at for flavour on the Velocity mini rda?

Misty Eyes

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Hi all :)

I will shortly be putting together my first rda build based on an Evic vtc mini with a Velocity mini clone rda.

On the coil build front (I'm new to coil building) Will be looking too keep things as simple as possible with dual Kanthal A1 horizontal coils...of course using an ohm meter /steamengine app.

I see various posts on ohm levels ranging anywhere from 0.15 -0.5 and would be grateful for advice on what
ohm level to aim for from a flavour perspective.

Many thanks

Misty Eyes

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
26 GA Kanthal dual coil. 5 wraps around a 2.8 mm diameter on each should yield about .3 ohms.
6 wraps... Mebbe .4 ohm.

You might even try wrapping a lower diameter. 2.5 mm for instance.

Thanks for the reply mate.
Ok will aim for .3 to.4 ohm
I have 24, 26 and 28 kanthal and will use steam engine to aim for 5-7 wraps.

Was initially considering 2mm internal diameter of coil though note your comments on 2.5 or 2.8....
I take it I would be better off using a larger size?

Misty Eyes

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
http://www.steam-engine.org/coil.asp?r=0.8&awg=24&id=3
http://www.steam-engine.org/coil.asp?r=0.8&awg=24&id=2.5

Remember, when you do a dual coil, the Resistance is cut in half

The more wraps the better, provides more surface area.

Thanks I'm still getting my head round dual coils

Newbie question: Using the steam engine app with the following example of a dual coil build is the 0.8 ohm figure the total resistance of both coils fitted or do I need to half that figure i.e 0.4?

http://www.steam-engine.org/coil.asp?s=dp&r=0.8&awg=28&id=3

Cheers

mountainbikermark

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year