Become a Patron!

Why do people ask about the coil resistance?

Walker

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
I hope I don't come off the wrong way in this message. I am genuinely curious about this.

I'm still new to vaping, but I'm an electrical engineer and am way more familiar with Ohms law, power, current, etc, etc than I really would like to be.

So, what I am wondering is why people say things like "with a X Ohm coil, you really need Y watts to get a good vape". That makes no sense to the engineer side of me.

Watts are a measure of power. If I am vaping at 20 watts, it (technically) doesn't matter how I achieved that.

Maybe it's a 1.5 Ohm coil running at 5.5V.
Maybe it's a 0.5 Ohm coil running at 3.1V.
Maybe it's a 0.2 Ohm coil running at 2.0V.

Either way, you are getting 20 watts of power and the same vaporizing potential.

Is there some other (more aesthetic, less scientific) thing going on?

Again... I am not trying to be confrontational. I'm curious and interested.

Last edited:

William Hucke

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
umm here is and idea to test it out if you have a VV mod build some coils for those ohm's you listed and try it out on the same rda and same mod

to me science say's it don't matter how you do it its the same

but at the same time is pseudoscience of its there but you cant prove how you do it in grand detail

when you factor in different flavors taste much more different at various temps

hogheadv

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years