Become a Patron!

Advanced Recipe Creation Training?

MellowFellow

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Hello everyone. I have been mixing my own for 8 months now and while I can follow recipes with the best of them, I would like to make my own original creations. I have been playing around with my own Apple Pie recipe for months now, up to version 8.0, its good, but I want it to be the best that I can make.

To that end, I was wondering is there an online training for advanced mixology? Somewhere that educates people on how to do highly complex, multiple flavor mixes. I mean 7-10 flavors on average. I see some recipes online that have 7-10 flavors in them, when I mix it, the result is nothing like what you would imagine it to be, its a totally unique flavor combo. I would like to learn more about how to create these recipes, how to come up with the combos. So is there somewhere online I can learn?

Thanks

PatheticMr.

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Not that I'm aware of.

A lot of DIY'ing is trial and error - and I'm almost certain these days that there are flavours/additives out there that the wider public do not have access to.

I've found that for complex recipes, it helps to keep notes of what aspects of recipes you like. If a flavour combo works well in one recipe, it is likely to work in another! Also, I find it's worth buying one or two flavours at a time - bit from multiple different brands. For example, when I was looking to get that perfect strawberry, I ordered strawberry from about 7 different brands. Finally settled on a mix between shisha SB, sweet SB and SB (ripe).

Heabob

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
I would like to learn more about how to create these recipes
Mostly by just trying different things together.
Start with simple 2-3 flavor combos.
Examples:
Fruit + Vanilla
Fruit + Cream
Fruit + Vanilla + Cream
Fruit 1 + Fruit 2 + Vanilla + Cream
Fruit + Custard