Become a Patron!

How to know when it's time to retire batteries...

cmoorewv

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
So, how do I know when it's time to retire a pair of batteries? Do they just stop holding out as long, not charge well? I'm new to battery mods, and don't want to have a battery meltdown/failure. I didn't know what a married pair was, but fortunately I was doing that correctly anyway - always using and charging the same pair together in a mod. What's the average life span for a pair of 18650s? I know it will vary based on brand and charging technique - just looking for a general range. Thanks.

stevegmu

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
I only use AW IMR batteries. I recycle them at 12 months, even though I'm easy on them. Batteries degrade with time, as well as usage...

zaroba

Gold Contributor
Member For 5 Years
Lifespan also depends on how you vape.

I've semi-retired batteries when they seemed to not hold a charge anymore. It's always been a sudden drop of performance for me. Like they would be fine one week, then the next week they quickly decline. As an example, in my sig150, I can normally take batteries down to 10% before it stops firing, then almost suddenly a few days later it stops firing when the batteries only get to 30-40%.

So far, this seems to happen within 6 months for me, but I vape a lot and low subohm at a high wattage.
Have 5 pairs in rotation, but will drain 2-4 pairs a day.

I said 'semi-retired' since I still keep the old batteries to use as backups if for some reason I forget to charge the good batteries or go through them faster then I can charge them.

raymo2u

VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Unlisted Vendor
After you notice they dont last as long after a charge or when they vent on you :D

snake94115

Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years